The Best Show Ever

Okay, have any of you ever seen The Great British Bake-Off (or The Great British Baking Show, as it’s called here in the US)? I got introduced to it about a month and a half ago, and since then I have really been hooked on it! The fifth season just ended a few weeks ago (boo-hoo!), but until I hear word about a sixth season, I am content with watching the repeats on YouTube. If you have never heard of the show before, it is basically what it sounds like: a group of people (who happen to be British) are assigned to bake three specific recipes every week. These three recipes are usually all based around a certain theme (for example, one week it was “European cakes”). The contestants’ desserts are judged by Paul Hollywood and Mary Berry (no joke, that is really her name!). Of course, every week they do have to send someone home, but that’s to be expected in a competition. I think the main reasons why I like this show so much is because: a). it’s international, and b). the contestants are all really nice. No one’s ever super-dramatic like in the American cooking-competition shows (which I definitely do not like as much since I saw this show!). Plus in the American shows, you know how every other word seems to be *bleeped* out? That definitely doesn’t happen in this show. The contestants are all really nice and encouraging, and even when things go wrong, they keep their cool. If you haven’t seen this show yet, I would highly recommend checking it out. I assure you that you’ll get hooked on it just like me! image A photo of all the Season 5 contestants. 🙂 *Sunny

Leave a Reply

