Throwback Thursday: American Girl Fall 2003 Catalog

Hi everyone! For this week’s Throwback Thursday, I’m going to be sharing some pictures of a fall 2003 American Girl catalog. I love the old American Girl catalogs, probably even more than the newer ones! It’s really fun to look back at all of the adorable dolls, outfits, and accessories that were available at the time. All of these pictures that you are about to see were taken by me earlier today. So, let’s get started!!

IMG_20150326_174340

First off, let me say that this is not originally my catalog. I ordered it off of Ebay (for a pretty good price considering it’s over ten years old) about six months ago. It was my very first Ebay purchase as well. πŸ˜‰ The doll on the cover is actually Kailey, the Girl of the Year 2003-2004. (She was released in summer 2003, and retired one year later, in summer 2004.) This catalog introduced her! If you can see, in the top left hand corner it says, “Meet Kailey, the newest American Girl!”. I thought that was pretty cool. πŸ˜‰

(BTW, click on the image to see it larger and read the descriptions.)

image

This is what it looks like when you first open the catalog, complete with a table of contents and everything!

image

On the next page is a short, sweet letter from American Girl. Now that is cool! I never knew the people at American Girl actually wrote letters at the beginning of their catalogs back then. I really wish they still did that because they seem really neat and inspiring!

Here are some of the My American Girl pages (which were called American Girl Today at the time):

image

image

This is interesting: they actually had girl-sized Halloween costumes, so you could match with your doll! How awesome is that?! And they were only $48, which wasn’t too bad considering all that they come with.

image

I love that Beachside Outfit!! Super cute! And Coconut looks absolutely adorable.

image

OK, now this is really cool. Back then, American Girl sold party accessories, so you could have a Coconut-themed party! That actually sounds pretty fun. I’d love something like this, because not only do I love Coconut, but I am also a total dog person!
πŸ˜€

image

Here’s a two-page spread of all the historical characters at the time. Back then, Felicity (who is now retired) was only sold online. That’s pretty interesting. I never knew that until recently. Above each character was a trait that described them.

Here’s a closer look at both of the pages:

image

image

It’s kinda hard to believe, but Julie, Rebecca, and Caroline weren’t even around at the time yet! Julie wasn’t released until 2007, Rebecca came out in 2009, and Caroline made her debut in 2012.

image

Kit in her limited-edition “Tree House Outfit”! That outfit looks super adorable! I wasn’t into AG when it was out, but I wish I was because I would have LOVED to buy that! In my opinion, I think it’s the cutest outfit they’ve ever made for Kit. (Take note, AG…all of Kit’s future outfits do not have to be pink to be cute. πŸ˜‰ )
If you can see, near the bottom of the picture, American Girl had a special deal at the time where you could get 3 of Kit’s outfits, two of her books, and a short story called Kit’s Tree House (which is where Kit’s Tree House Outfit comes from, obviously). All that for only $88! Nowadays, all that would be such a steal!

image

Here is the lovely Samantha in a full two-page spread! She looks so cute in her super cozy winter coat! I can’t decide if I like this coat or her new Beforever one better. Probably this one, since it looks warmer and is a little longer, but they’re both adorable.

image

Some of Miss Molly (who is also retired)’s outfits! I love her Victory Garden dress. That color looks perfect on her!

image

Here’s something interesting-which isn’t in catalogs anymore for obvious reasons-the order form! Back then, this was how a lot of people would order their stuff from the catalog. Nowadays, most people go online or to the American Girl Place. *Fun Fact: Did you know that at the time, there was only one AGP??? No joke, it was the one in Chicago. The New York store opened later that year.*

image

Bitty Baby!!! Ahh, they are super adorable!! I love their little pink outfits! Nowadays, I believe there are about twelve different kinds of babies to choose from, but back in 2003, there were only five. I think I like five better than twelve-it just makes choosing a baby a whole lot easier! Also, at the time, Bitty Babies were only $40! That’s half of what they are now…what a difference twelve years makes.

image

And here are the Bitty Twins! Back then there was only one pair of twins-the blond boy and girl. You also weren’t able to choose two girls or two boys. Their outfits in this picture are just too cute! I love the girl’s little hood! πŸ˜€

Finally, the last two pictures:

image

For a few years, American Girl sold stuffed Angelina Ballerina dolls, outfits, and books. I wasn’t into AG when they were being sold, but I must say from what I’ve seen in this catalog, these cute little mice are just to die for! I love the little tent and Angelina’s hiking outfit. πŸ˜‰

image

American Girl also had a line in the early- to mid-2000’s called Hopscotch Hill School. They were for younger girls just starting school. The dolls they sold in 2003 were Hallie (not pictured here), Skylar, and Logan. I had one of these dolls, Gwen (who wasn’t sold until later on), and I had a few of the books when I was younger, too. In fact, I think my sister still has a very old copy somewhere of Bright Shiny Skylar!

That’s all for this week’s Throwback Thursday! I hope you enjoyed looking through this American Girl catalog with me. If you’re interested in seeing any more pictures of the catalog, just comment down below and let me know, and I will be happy to do another post on this catalog! At the moment I do have another AG catalog from 2002, and I hope to get more old catalogs in the future.

*Sunny

19 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: American Girl Fall 2003 Catalog

    • Hi Jen!
      First of all, thank you SO MUCH for reblogging my post! You are SO sweet! πŸ™‚
      Secondly, I totally agree with what you said. Before I started ordering the old catalogs, I always wondered what was in them. That is so cool you have an old Angelina. I never knew AG sold them either until a few years ago. And it just goes to show you that you can still sell cute outfits to girls and they don’t have to be pink. πŸ˜‰
      Have a great day!
      *Sunny

      Like

  1. I can’t believe they had halloween costumes!!!!!! I wish they still did that! I’m still blown away that AG sold Angelina Dolls and Jen and I have one! My mom said that those Angelina Dolls are know worth about $30 – $40! The Kit Treehouse Outfit is so cute! I didn’t even know that American Girl sold Hopscotch Hill School Dolls! That’s amazing, I’ve learned about AG so much from this post! Amazing Sunny! Keep up the great posts!

    – Brianna

    Like

    • I know, I think the Halloween costume page is one of my favorites. I love the cat costume! πŸ˜‰ I think AG does still sell Halloween costumes, or at least, they did a few years ago. I remember seeing they had an angel costume not too long ago.
      I know, right? I never knew they sold Angelina either! The mice are super cute, though, and I love their little outfits!
      Wow…$30-$40 just for a teeny little mouse?! No way! :-O
      I agree, I love Kit’s Tree House Outfit. I really wish they still sold it, especially because I have Kit. πŸ˜‰
      I love the Hopscotch Hill dolls!
      I’m glad you found out so much from this post! Thank you so much-your comment made my day!! πŸ™‚
      *Sunny

      Like

  2. Two more things! When my mom and I read the August 2014 addition of the AG Catalogue we were both upset that the basically every single Samantha Outfit was pink! I’m so glad these outfits are different colors! I’m glad you appreciate the comments to! Bye for now!

    – Brianna

    Like

    • Hello again, Kathleen!! πŸ™‚
      I’m so glad you like it!!
      Yup, it did. But I actually think they were released in ’02, because I have a holiday 2002 catalog with some of the GOMLs in it.
      *Sunny

      Like

  3. Pingback: Angelina Ballerina – Blast from the Past | The Dolls Between Us

  4. Pingback: The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award…Again! | Everything Fun Under The Sun

  5. Okay, thank you so much for posting this! I’ve been super nostalgic about American Girl lately and I’ve been trying to remember what the catalogues from when I was younger looked like. I remember this catalogue!! Thanks for posting this:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, no problem, Katie!! Your comment made my day. I always wondered what the old catalogs looked like myself and wanted to give others a chance to either re-read them or see them for the first time. I’m so glad it brought back a bunch of memories for you. πŸ™‚
      *Sunny

      Like

Leave a Reply

