How Did I Get This Lucky?

Hi everyone! Well, you all must have kept your fingers crossed pretty tightly for me in hopes that I would find something at the book sale I went to this week. You’ll be happy to hear that I found not one, not two, but THIRTEEN BOOKS! Yes, that’s right-thirteen. Usually at the most, I only find about five or six books at a book sale. But this time I got lucky! The library was getting rid of a lot of their American Girl books, which I collect faithfully! My bookshelf at home is full of them, and I’m always on the lookout for new ones to add to my collection. 🙂 Out of all the books I bought, eleven of them were American Girl-related.  In this post, I’ll show you some of the books I got, and tell you a little bit about them. (The rest will be shown in a different post.) Let’s get started, shall we?

image

First up is an American Girl History Mystery, Secrets on 26th Street by Elizabeth McDavid Jones. For those of you who don’t know, History Mysteries were, obviously, mystery books, which AG published back in the late ’90’s and early 2000’s. They aren’t around anymore, b/c the Historical Character/Beforever mysteries have replaced them, but I have read a few of these and they are fantastic! (Some of them are a little scary, though, so if you don’t like spooky stuff, I wouldn’t recommend most of the titles.) Anyway, this book (which is one of the less scary ones) is one of my favorites. It’s about a girl named Susan who lives in New York in 1914 (sounds like Rebecca, doesn’t it? 😉 ). A British woman is boarding with her family, and Susan discovers that she is keeping secrets from everyone. I don’t want to go into too much detail, because I don’t want to spoil  anything, but it is such an addicting book!

image

Next, I got More All-Of-A-Kind Family by Sydney Taylor. These books are really cute. They’re about a group of five Jewish sisters (and their baby brother) who live in New York in the early 1900’s (around 1912-ish). The sisters get into all kinds of adventures around their neighborhood, plus the book discusses the Jewish holidays the girls celebrate, so you get to learn about the Jewish religion, too. I would definitely recommend this book series (I believe there are four about the sisters, and one which focuses on the oldest sister) for all ages. When I was little my sister and I used to listen to the books on tapes, and even my mom read them when she was a girl!

image

Moving right along, we have Get Ready for Gabi: Please Don’t Go! by Marisa Montes. This is the fourth book in a pretty short-lived series (in all I think there were five books) about a Spanish girl named Gabi (pronounced Ga-BEE, with an accent 😉 ). She speaks both Spanish and English and lives in California. This book is about Gabi, her little brother, and her friends trying to convince her grandmother (or abuelita in Spanish) to stay with the family forever, instead of moving back to her home in Puerto Rico. (In the first book, Gabi’s abuelita came to stay with the family for a while.) What’s really great about these books is that there is a glossary of Spanish words in the back of each one of them. The books are probably best for kids in second through fifth grade, but they’re really great for everyone in my opinion. 😉 (BTW, please excuse the mini-stapler, I put that there because there was a label on the front that said the name of the library. 🙂 )

image

Next up, I got another History Mystery: Voices At Whisper Bend by Katherine Ayres. This is another one of the mysteries that really isn’t scary (which is probably why I like it so much. 😉 ). It’s about a girl named Charlotte who lives in Pennsylvania during World War II. She organizes a scrap metal drive at her school for the war effort, and faithfully collects a great amount of metal. However, one day, the students’ metal is stolen, and Charlotte, her brother, and her friends work hard to figure out who took it all. It’s a really good book, but in my opinion the ending was kind of confusing… (I got it out of the library before I bought it at the sale so that’s how I know. ;-). No, I don’t read that fast!)

image

Finally, the last book featured in this post is Changes For Kit, by Valerie Tripp. I was super excited to find this book, because Kit is my absolute favorite American Girl! Plus, this was one of the only Kit books I didn’t have yet (I also don’t have Kit Saves The Day). In the story, Kit’s Uncle Hendrick (who is very grumpy, by the way) inspires Kit to write a letter to the newspaper editor about a very important matter. It’s such a great book, and Kit is such a great character because she stands up for what she thinks is right.

That’s it for this post, but don’t worry! I’ll show you all the rest of my books in part 2, which will hopefully be uploaded tomorrow. I really hope  you enjoyed!
Have a great rest of your day!

*Sunny

2 thoughts on “How Did I Get This Lucky?

  1. Fantastic post!!!!!!!! You did get lucky at that sale! I have read one of the History Mystery Books called Trouble at Fort La Pointe! It’s amazing, I really recommend it. Changes for Kit is a good book, I have on my home bookshelf! I know you’re going to like that one. Bye for now!
    – Brianna

    Like

    • Thanks, Brianna! 🙂
      I know, I couldn’t believe it. Cool, I’ve never read that one, but I think I’ll have to give it a try sometime.
      I’m looking forward to reading it, in fact, I started some of it already! So far so good. 🙂
      Bye, and have a great day!
      *Sunny

      Like

Leave a Reply

