How Did I Get This Lucky? (Part 2)

Hi everyone! It’s time for part 2 of my book sale haul. I hope you enjoy!

image

Next I found Meet Felicity by Valerie Tripp. Felicity is a retired American Girl now, so her books are incredibly hard to find. (I found out yesterday that American Girl sadly no longer sells her books. 😦 ) I’m sure most of you know this, but just in case you don’t, Felicity is a young, horse-loving, impatient girl growing up in Virginia in 1774. In this story, she meets a horse named Penny, who is being mistreated by her owner, a mean man named Jiggy Nye. Felicity often sneaks out of her house at night so she can ride Penny in secret, without Jiggy Nye knowing. It’s a really great book that also helps you to learn about American history, too. Along with Kit, I do own the doll version of Felicity, and she is a beauty!

image

I also got Felicity Learns A Lesson….

image

….and Felicity Saves The Day! Both of these books I have never read, but I am very eager to start. The artwork in these books is just breathtaking as well!

image

Another book I was very lucky to find was an American Girl book called Hair: Styling Tips and Tricks for Girls. It teaches you how to take care of your hair, whether it’s curly or straight, thick or thin! Plus, the book gives you great hairstyle ideas too! My favorite is the one where they give you step-by-step directions on how to braid your hair-I’ve always had difficulty with braiding my hair, so it has really come in handy for me.

image

I also got Meet Addy, by Connie Rose Porter. Addy is a slave growing up in North Carolina in 1864. In this story, Addy and her momma escape from their plantation to freedom in Philadelphia-but getting there isn’t as easy as you might think! The Addy books are some of my favorites in the American Girls collection. Not only do they teach about slavery and prejudice, but they are also really thrilling and suspenseful.

image

I also was super lucky to find two more Addy books: Addy’s Surprise…

image

And Changes For Addy!

image

Finally, I got Samantha Saves The Day by Valerie Tripp. Ten-year-old Samantha, who lives in New York in 1904, goes on a summer  vacation  to the mountains. She and her new friends, twin sisters Agnes and Agatha, go on an adventure that ends with a wild storm! From the summary in the beginning of the book, this book looks great, and I can’t wait to start reading it.

Well, those are all of my book sale finds. I hope you had fun learning about each book! I go to a lot of book sales, so hopefully in the coming months, I’ll discover more books to share with you.

*Sunny

26 thoughts on “How Did I Get This Lucky? (Part 2)

    • Thanks! It was actually pretty funny, because I didn’t see most of the AG books at first. They were all grouped together in one box, and another book was on top of them. I moved the book just to see what was in that box, and it was like American Girl Heaven!! Ahhhhh!!! πŸ˜€
      *Sunny

      Liked by 1 person

      • I usually go to one of the libraries near me (there are quite a few!). You know, I haven’t recently, but in the past, I’ve gone to flea markets where people have sold doll clothes. Once I went to one and bought a cheerleader outfit that fit AG dolls. I wish I still had it, it was super cute-it even came with pom-poms! πŸ˜€
        *Sunny

        Like

      • I think I lost it… :-(. And the pom poms fell apart, I think. LOL.
        Now I want to go to another flea market! I don’t have too many clothes for my dolls these days, but I want to get some now! I have Kit and Felicity. Which dolls do you have (AG or non-AG)?
        *Sunny

        Like

      • That’s sad :). Dude, we’ve been talking like all day! SO AWESOME! My dogs are playing and it’s so cute! Hold on, I’ll tell you which dolls I have after I let them outside XD

        Like

      • Ok…. So, I have Julie, Moly and Emily but I also have once that my sisters gave me which are Josephina, Kit, Samantha and Addy! And a Gotz doll who’s name is Ashley!

        Like

      • Wow, those are great dolls! I really want Emily and Addy. πŸ™‚ And Gotz dolls are really cute too! My sister has Samantha and a My AG named Carla.
        *Sunny

        Like

      • Well, let me explain. People donate books they don’t want anymore to the library. Then the library puts those books into boxes, and they put the boxes in a big room where people can look through them and choose what they want. The books are sold for really cheap too. They’re really fun. A lot of my books have come from them.
        *Sunny

        Like

      • Oh, I’m sorry to hear that. :-(. That’s kind of interesting, though, because near me there’s a really small library, and they do have book sales a lot. I’ve never been to one of theirs, though. If you’re ever somewhere that has one, though, you should check it out.
        *Sunny

        Like

      • Yeah, I deffinently will! My library just gives books away if they don’t want them anymore :). There is actually some out right now at the library and I haven’t really looked at them so I will have to look for some books, like the school series thingy you were talking about πŸ˜€ lol.

        Like

      • Aw man! If only you knew is right! But that’s OK, I’m sure you’ll be going back soon. πŸ™‚
        I love going to the library on Friday nights. I don’t usually go then, but I’d like to. πŸ™‚
        *Sunny

        Like

      • I know right? It depends, but most of the time we go on Saturday. And we usually go about once a month. Do you go every week? We used to go every Sunday for a while.
        *Sunny

        Like

      • We used to go every week when we were closer to it and when we HAD to get our books back on time and we always had ones that needed to returned and if we didn’t return them on time we would have to pay money. Did you get that? But now we probably go 2 times a month…… I think? πŸ™‚

        Like

      • Haha, yes, I did. I hate overdue books. It happens to me sometimes, and I always panic when I realize they’re overdue!! (I almost had some overdue books today, in fact, but just in time I renewed them!)
        Cool!
        *Sunny

        Like

  1. Oh, and besides book sales, I buy most of my books at Barnes and Noble or on Amazon. And sometimes I ask for books for Christmas or my birthday. So it’s all good. πŸ˜‰
    Where do you usually get your books?
    *Sunny

    Like

Leave a Reply

