Talent Battle: Chapter 3

SURPRISE! Here’s the third chapter of Talent Battle…three days early!! Due to the story’s extreme popularity, I decided that it would be better to post the next chapter today instead of on Saturday. ๐Ÿ˜‰ (If you’re new to the story, here are the links to Chapter 1 and Chapter 2.)

Chapter 3

Lauren and Dylan were chatting with Paul, Shannon’s eighteen-year-old brother, when Shannon and I joined them. It looked like Dylan and Paul were really into a conversation about auto racing.
I waved a quick hello to Paul, and then Shannon and I eagerly told Lauren about the contest.
“I love it!” she exclaimed. “But Amy, I’m so sorry Dylan hurt your feelings in the first place. I’m sure he didn’t mean it. He’s always bragging to everyone about how good he thinks I am.”
“It’s alright,” I replied.
Just then, Dylan and Paul walked over. “What’s this about a contest?” Dylan asked.
Lauren filled him in. “Doesn’t it sound so awesome?” she finished.
Dylan nodded. “Sure does, mostly because I know you’ll win, sister! Hope you can save a bite of your cake for me!”
“Oh, I will,” Lauren laughed. “If I win.”
“Hey,” Shannon spoke up. “Maybe Paul and I could be, like, the emcees for the contest!”
“Sure,” Paul agreed. “That actually sounds like a lot of fun. I’ll start working on my announcer voice.” Patting his shaggy blond hair, he then held his fist in front of his mouth like a microphone.
“Gooood evening, everyone,” he boomed. “This is the one and only Paul Marshall, reporting live at the site of the first annual Fourth of July Sing-Off!!! Who will take first prize?”
“This is going to be so fun!” exclaimed Lauren. “And besides singing, I’m gonna play guitar too. I brought mine with me.”
Uh-oh, this wasn’t good. “I didn’t…um, bring mine,” I admitted softly.
“That’s okay,” Lauren spoke up. “If you need it, Amy, I’ll let you borrow it!”
I thanked Lauren, then told her, “Come on! What are we waiting for? Let’s go practice!”

I hope you enjoyed this chapter! Chapter 4 will be posted in a few minutes!! ๐Ÿ™‚

*Sunny

4 thoughts on “Talent Battle: Chapter 3

  1. Pingback: Talent Battle: Chapter 4 | Everything Fun Under The Sun

  2. Pingback: Talent Battle: Chapter 5 | Everything Fun Under The Sun

Leave a Reply

