Talent Battle: Chapter 6

I want to start off this chapter by apologizing for not posting this next part sooner! I’ll be honest and admit that it actually has slipped my mind until very recently. πŸ™‚ Anyway, to get all caught up on this story, go here to read the first five chapters.

Chapter 6

When I arrived back down the basement, I grabbed Lauren’s guitar from where she’d placed it near her seat, and plopped myself once more in the rocking chair. I spread my songwriting notebook out on my lap and began to sing and strum.
“When the sun stays out for forever, and there’s always beautiful weather…that is the best season!” I started the first verse.
Things were going well, but when I reached the chorus, my voice started acting funky.
“There is so much sunshine in the summerrr…” I sang, and as I hit a high note, my voice squeaked.
Whoa. This wasn’t good. I didn’t usually squeak when it came to high notes. This was because my mom, who had once been a Broadway performer, had given me voice lessons a few years before, and had taught me to sing high notes well.
I cleared my throat and sang the line again. “There is so much sunshine in the summerrr…”
After I sang that, my voice seemed to be sounding a little worse. It was squeaking even on some notes that weren’t all that high.
I frowned. What was wrong?
I sang that line over and over, with no improvement. Finally, I just decided to start the whole song over and see what happened when I did that. I flipped to the page in my book where the first verse was written.
That’s when I realized that my throat felt strange. It was almost as if a huge paperweight was sitting on top of it. It hurt lots, too, as though a big piece of food was stuck inside it.
I wondered how I could have hurt my throat, and then suddenly, I figured out why. When I gobbled down my food, I must have eaten it all too fast, and hadn’t chewed any of it good enough. That probably hurt my throat somehow, and now I couldn’t sing properly!
I’ll get a water bottle and see what happens, I decided. Maybe after I finish drinking it, my throat will feel a lot better.
I got out of my seat, ran up the basement stairs, and hurried outside to one of the drink coolers.
Out in the yard, as I reached for a water bottle, Lauren came over to me.
“Hey, Amy,” she said. “Are you almost ready for the show? Paul said maybe we could start our performances in an hour or so.”
I shrugged. “Maybe…I’ll have to see how my voice is by then.”
Lauren frowned. “What do you mean, Amy? You’re talking just fine.”
“It’s…when I sing,” I began hesitantly, and then shyly told Lauren the whole story about my squeaky voice. I was a little embarrassed. I was sure nothing like that had ever happened to Lauren. She was too professional.
In the middle of my story, Lesli walked over and listened with interest.
“Gosh, Amy,” she said, when I was done. “That’s too bad.” Lauren agreed with her.
Then, with a shrug of her shoulders, Lesli turned to Lauren and said said in a perky voice, “I guess that means you’ll win the competition, huh, Lauren?”
“I don’t know, Les,” Lauren said. “Amy could win, too, you know.”
“What do you mean?” Lesli asked. “Amy can’t sing, so…you’re sure to be the winner!” She put an arm around our cousin. “I knew you’d win all along! You’re the real singer in this family!”
At Lesli’s last sentence, pain stabbed my heart. Lesli was acting just as Grandma Rosedale had. Both of them had praised Lauren about her singing skills…in front of me! Why didn’t anyone seem to understand that I could sing too?
I’ll show you all, I thought. Just you wait and see.

That’s all for Chapter 6-I hope you all enjoyed it! Be on the lookout for Chapter 7 soon!! πŸ˜€

*Sunny

18 thoughts on “Talent Battle: Chapter 6

  1. This is awesome, Sunny!:D
    I think the reason why I like this story of your’s so much is because I feel like I can relate to Amy. I always feel like I don’t have any talents. My mom said that we’re always going to find people in life who can do something better then we can. I just feel sometimes that there’s nothing I’m good at.
    Also I LOVE singing! And I can definitely relate to Amy in this chapter-my mom hasn’t heard me sing much, but from what she says she has heard, she says that I have a pretty voice. My BFF and her mom think I’m good too, but some songs I CAN NOT sing. πŸ˜€ My voice will just fade out into a whisper on songs what are too high or too low-though I’m actually usually too shy to sing in front of people, Oh well!:) I just want to thank you again for this story…keep up the great work!:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Lainey!! πŸ˜€
      I know what you mean-I feel like that too sometimes, and my mom has said the same thing. Even though it’s not what we’d like to hear, it’s very true. But honestly, I think you have a lot of talent! You take great pictures and write wonderful blog posts! And you come up with lots of creative ideas, too-like the photostory series you’re planning!! πŸ˜€
      I agree, I like to sing too, though I don’t do it as much as I used to. πŸ˜‰ I’m sure I’d think your voice is pretty, too! And yeah, I have trouble with high/low notes also!! πŸ˜‰ And like you, a lot of times I’m too shy to sing in front of people too. I think a lot of people are! πŸ™‚
      You’re very welcome-I’m really glad that you like it! The next chapter will be up either later today or tomorrow…I’m working on the post right now!
      *Sunny

      Liked by 1 person

      • Welcome. πŸ™‚
        Yeah. πŸ™‚
        Aww…..Thank you. πŸ™‚ I have my mom to thank for that. She always goes over my posts with me to make sure that it doesn’t sound confusing and the punctuation. πŸ™‚ You definitely have a talent for writing! And I love your personality!:)
        πŸ™‚ Thanks Sunny-you’re great. πŸ™‚
        YAY!! Can’t wait!:D

        Like

      • You’re welcome! Oh, that’s awesome! Then I compliment your mom for doing a great job, too!! πŸ™‚
        Aw, thank you so much! I’m glad you like my writing…and my personality! I love yours, too!
        You’re so welcome!! πŸ™‚
        I’m so glad-I can’t wait either!! πŸ˜€
        *Sunny

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh my gosh, this is such a tough question! To be honest, I’m content with the dolls I have now (Kit and Felicity), but I would really like either Rebecca, Addy, or MAG 24. πŸ˜€ How about you?
        *Sunny

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cool! I really like Rebecca too!:)
        Hm…….Grace, MAG with black-brown hair and blue eyes, MAG with Curly honey-colored hair and hazel eyes, and the MAG that Jaclynn just bought. πŸ™‚
        I will probably rename Grace; Leah, and then Makena, Cozi, and I’m not sure yet for the last one. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s great! She’s such a pretty doll. πŸ™‚
        Ooh, I love all of those!! Especially the MAG with honey-colored hair. πŸ˜‰ And the doll Jaclynn just bought is super pretty!!
        Leah’s a great name for Grace-it fits her well! And Makena and Cozi are great names too. πŸ™‚
        Hmm…about the last one…I wanted that one a while ago, and I thought of naming her April. Maybe that would be a good name for her. πŸ™‚ I’m sure whatever you come up with will be great, though!
        I think I’d name MAG 24 Shannon, after Shannon from my story, of course! πŸ˜‰ Either that or Holly, because I’ve always thought that doll looks like a Holly. πŸ™‚
        *Sunny

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yep!:)
        Yes, they are. πŸ™‚
        I think so too! Keira came up with it!:) I might be getting Leah in September!:)
        Thanks!
        Yeah…I like that!:) Or I might do Sunny. ;D Or January might be a pretty name for her. πŸ™‚
        Cool! What does 24 look like?

        Like

      • πŸ™‚
        That was really clever of Keira!! πŸ™‚ Ooh, I’m so excited for you-I really hope you can get her!!! πŸ™‚
        You’re welcome. πŸ™‚
        Haha, I like Sunny. LOL. ;D Ooh, January would be a nice name! Then you could call her Jan for short! πŸ™‚
        Ooh, wait, I just got a good idea for a name for her: maybe Anita? My mom’s cousin is named Anita, and I think it’s a nice name. πŸ™‚
        I’m glad you like it! Oh, that’s right-I should’ve written what she looked like! She’s the one with long blond hair, brown eyes, and freckles. πŸ™‚
        *Sunny

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, it was!:)
        Thanks a ton!:D
        LOL!:D Oh yeah! That would be cute!
        Ooooooo!! I like that!! That is really pretty! Or maybe Margaret(I’ll never make up my mind:D)!
        That’s totally OK!:) Most girls know the numbers of the dolls, but I’m one in a million who don’t!:D

        Liked by 1 person

      • πŸ™‚
        You’re welcome!! πŸ˜€
        I agree, it’s really a cute nickname for her. πŸ™‚ LOL!
        Thanks!! Yeah, I really just automatically thought of it somehow!! LOL! Ooh, Margaret would be really pretty too!! Hahaha, I’m like that too!!
        Make that two in a million-actually, she’s one of the only numbers that I know! LOL! πŸ™‚ Most of them I have to Google, to be honest! πŸ˜€
        *Sunny

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

