Talent Battle: Chapter 8

Hey everyone! I can’t believe we’re already on Chapter 8 of this story!! (To read the last seven chapters, go here.)

Before I get started, I just want to say thank you so much to all the people who complimented me on this story. I’m extremely amazed and very grateful for all your kind words. It makes me so happy that you all are enjoying it so much! πŸ˜€ You guys rock!!

Chapter 8

I stomped down the basement steps and threw myself into the rocking chair.
I can’t believe this, I thought to myself. I try to prove to everyone that I can sing and make music like Lauren, and what happens? I end up squeaking like a mouse!
I continued to sit and feel sorry for myself for a few more minutes. Soon, Shannon came hurrying down the basement steps, panting.
“Amy!” she cried. “I’ve been looking all over for you. I’m so sorry about what’s happened.”
“Yeah, sure you are,” I mumbled. “You let everyone laugh at me, and didn’t even defend me…even though you and Paul are in charge of this whole sing-off.”
“Amy,” Shannon sighed, sitting down on the blue carpet in front of the rocking chair, “let me tell you something. I think you’re a terrific singer, and so do Paul and Lauren, and your parents. But that’s only because we’ve seen you perform, and you’ve told us about your songs and stuff.” She paused. “I think the reason everyone laughed at you and all was because, well…most of our family doesn’t know how talented of a singer you are.”
I frowned. “What do you mean?”
“Well,” Shannon continued, “I think our family thinks that you’re just in this contest to give Lauren someone to run against. Lauren’s been singing and playing guitar for a really long time, so of course the family would know about it. You got interested in that kind of stuff only a few years ago, and you know, all of our family doesn’t get together too much, so not many people know that you can really sing. Know what I mean?”
I nodded. “Yeah, it makes a lot of sense now. I guess I never told most of our family about my musical abilities. I never even realized that!”
“I’m glad you realize it now, Amy,” Shannon replied, with a smile.
“Me too,” I said, returning the smile. “Thanks, Shannon.”
“You’re welcome, Amy!” Shannon exclaimed, jumping up and throwing her arms around me. “Now, come on, we’d better get outside!” She grabbed my arm and started pulling me towards the stairs.
“What’s the big hurry?” I asked, laughing.
“You’ll see when we get outside,” Shannon said, a mysterious look on her face.

That’s all for Chapter 8, but look out for Chapter 9 coming later today!! πŸ˜€

*Sunny

6 thoughts on “Talent Battle: Chapter 8

Leave a Reply

