4 Things I Learned At The Graduation Party

Hi all! This past weekend, we went to a graduation party for my cousin, who has just graduated from college. Besides having a fantastic time, I also learned several things while there, and here they are listed for you:

1. I learned that I’m good at basketball. My aunt and uncle have a basketball net in their driveway, which my cousins and I (and my mom, at one point!) played around with a lot at the party. Although we don’t have a net at my house, I’ve gotten a little practice at the local park, which has a pretty big basketball court. However, I haven’t been to the park in a while, so I was surprised when I made more shots than I expected to last weekend (I even made more than my cousin, who’s over ten years older than me, but shhh, don’t tell her I said that!! πŸ™‚ ).

2. I learned to never wear yellow capri pants when you’re planning to drink soda and play Frisbee. I wore my new yellow capri pants to the party…which was a big mistake. First I spilled a few drops of Pepsi on them, which wasn’t too bad (and also wasn’t my fault, the can had wayyy too much soda in it!!). I quickly got up off the couch where I was sitting and went in to the bathroom to put a little water on the spot (which I was almost positive I could get out). Well, there were blue and white napkins in a little basket next to the sink (which people were supposed to use for towels), so I grabbed a blue one, wet it, and then rubbed it on the spot. Guess what happened next? The blue dye from the napkin got all over my yellow capri pants-aargh!! Later, some of us were playing Frisbee in the front yard, and I knelt down for half a second to grab the Frisbee. Even though I was in the grass for only half a second, I somehow managed to get a grass stain on my pants as well!! UGH!!! Luckily, my mom was able to get these stains out, and now my yellow capri pants are hanging in my closet, just waiting for me to put them on and get them all messed up again. πŸ˜‰

3. Make sure your flip-flops are tight and secure before you leave the house. On the day of the party, the weather was very warm, so instead of wearing sneakers, I opted for wearing my blue, flowered, very old flip-flops. I bought them two summers ago (2013), and although the middle part of one flip-flop (you know, the part that goes between your toes) often came loose last summer, I kept them around because they are super comfortable. Well, unfortunately for me, the in-between part came loose about six times during the party. Then I’d have to lean over and fix them again, which, since they’ve come loose plenty of times before this and are practically falling apart, wasn’t so easy to do. Right when we were leaving, the flip-flop came loose yet again, so finally I gave up and walked barefoot to the car (and stayed barefoot for the long car ride home!).

4. I learned to never get in the way of a crawling baby! As hilarious as this may sound, it is very true. My one-year-old cousin, Holly, was in attendance at the party. (She is so cute!!) She actually has just learned how to walk, but most of the time she was crawling during the party. At one point, she started crawling like mad over near the table where the food was, and it sounded like her mom (my cousin Karla) wanted her to stop moving. So I bent down real quick to block her, but as soon as I did that, everyone was like, “Why did you block her? Holly was on a roll!” πŸ˜€ Now I’ve learned never to try to block a baby when she’s “on a roll” again!! πŸ˜€

All in all, though, the party was wonderful, and I have a lot of fun memories of the day that I’ll remember for a long time to come. πŸ™‚

Have a great rest of your day!!

*Sunny

13 thoughts on “4 Things I Learned At The Graduation Party

    • Thanks, I’m glad you liked it!
      Thank you! I think I will! Hopefully soon I can convince my mom to take us to the park soon. πŸ˜‰
      I totally know what you mean…I think if I had a pool I’d be the same way!
      *Sunny
      P.S. I was going onto your site, and I had JUST gotten on when your comment came up. LOL! πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

