K-LOVE Fan Awards Winners/My Picks

Hi all! First I want to apologize for not getting a post up in almost a week! Last week I was really busy finishing up my schoolwork for the year. I’m happy to say that I’m almost done for the year and will be finished my work sometime this week. So that means…I’ll have much more time to post soon!!! 😀

Anyway, if any of you listen to the Christian radio station, K-LOVE, you may know that they had a special awards ceremony this weekend called the K-LOVE Fan Awards. Listeners were able to go on the station’s website and vote for who they wanted to win a specific category (Best Artist, Best Live Show, etc.). I did not, as I am under 18, but I did play a little game with myself and decided who I would choose if I could vote. 😉 Now let’s see who actually won, and who I would have picked for the certain awards.

Best Male Artist
Who won: Chris Tomlin
Who I would have picked: Matthew West
No offense to Chris Tomlin, but he seems to be everywhere, and while I do like several of his songs, I have been getting kind of sick of him lately. Plus if I’m not mistaken, I’m pretty sure he won this award last year. So, I would have picked Matthew West, just because I think he’s a really good singer, and every song I’ve heard by him so far I love. Also, he was the second Christian male artist I ever listened to (the first was Brandon Heath).

Best Female Artist
Who won: Francesca Battistelli
Who I would have picked: Francesca Battistelli
Francesca Battistelli is just awesome. She has a terrific voice and her songs just make me feel really good. I especially love her song This is the Stuff. I’m really happy that she won this award, because in my opinion, she totally deserves it.

Group/Duo of the Year
Who won: for KING & COUNTRY
Who I would have picked: for KING & COUNTRY or Tenth Avenue North
If you’re a long-time reader of my blog, you know how much I love this group. First of all, their songs are terrific, and there aren’t many songs I know by them that I dislike. Secondly, they’re Australian. Thirdly, they just seem like all-around, nice guys who love their families and try to spend as much time as possible with them. (I need to get them over to my house for dinner XD) So, what’s not to love? 🙂 I’m very pleased they won this award! If I had to choose someone else, though, I would pick Tenth Avenue North, hands down. I love their songs By Your Side, No Man Is An Island, Losing, and Stars In The Night. Plus, Mike Donehey (the awesome lead singer!) has a great voice. 🙂

Best Live Show
Who won: for KING & COUNTRY
Who I would have picked: for KING & COUNTRY
I’ve never seen any of the nominees’ live shows, but from what I have seen on YouTube of for KING & COUNTRY’s performances (not to mention what I’ve seen/heard from pictures/word of mouth), they just seem amazing! They have so many instruments, like an ENORMOUS drum and cymbals, and it just looks super cool. 🙂

Worship Song of the Year
Who won: Lauren Daigle-How Can It Be
Who I would have picked: Matt Maher-Because He Lives
Okay, please don’t take offense to this, but I really just can not stand Lauren Daigle’s voice. It’s just kind of raspy or something…I don’t know, but for whatever reason I don’t like her voice. Although the message is nice, I also don’t really care much for the song (mostly because of her voice). So, I would have picked Matt Maher because I really like him, and I also really like the song he was nominated for, which is Because He Lives.

Song of the Year
Who won: Newsboys-We Believe
Who I would have picked: either for KING & COUNTRY-Fix My Eyes or Francesca Battistelli-He Knows My Name
As soon as I saw that the Newsboys were nominated for this award, right away I just knew that they would win. I was right. As much as I love the Newsboys, I feel that they are everywhere and that this song (although the message is great, and I believe in the stuff they talk about) is completely overplayed. Still, congrats to them. 🙂 However, I would’ve chosen either Fix My Eyes by for KING & COUNTRY or He Knows My Name by Francesca Battistelli. I heard both of those songs several times over the summer last year and absolutely loved them…and still do! 🙂

Artist of the Year
Who Won: for KING & COUNTRY
Who I would have picked: for KING & COUNTRY (of course) or MercyMe
Well, I was certainly the happiest girl in the world when I saw that Joel and Luke won three awards! 🙂 If I had to pick a different artist to win, though, I think I would go with MercyMe. Their songs are absolutely terrific, and I feel that they aren’t getting as much recognition as they used to. 😉

Well, that covers all the awards! My heartiest congratulations to all the winners (and all the nominees!), even if I wouldn’t have chosen them myself.

Now, I want to know…who would you have chosen? Go to the K-LOVE Fan Awards page on the K-LOVE website and check it out for yourselves! 🙂

Have a great day!

*Sunny

36 thoughts on “K-LOVE Fan Awards Winners/My Picks

  1. Yay! I’m almost done with school too! All I have left is a couple of reports to print out, a math test, and the rest of my history book. It’s pretty exciting.
    Since I don’t listen to K-LOVE or any of that music, I don’t really know anything about it. However, it was interesting to read what you think. 🙂 In Southern Gospel music(which is what I listen to) they have their own fan awards. Don’t even get me started on it. It is the lamest thing ever(the same people/groups win every year). Does K-LOVE have a fan awards every year? If so, do the same artists win every year?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Whoo-hoo!! 🙂 That is awesome!! I just have a math test and that’s it!
      That’s totally fine! 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed reading my answers.
      LOL, seriously? The awards sound cool, but it’s ridiculous that the same people win every year.
      They have been holding the awards since 2013. The fans/listeners vote on the nominees. I think they try to pick different nominees every year, but some of the same ones still show up. Most of the same people don’t win more than one year in a row, which is good. (Except Chris Tomlin, I’m pretty sure he won Best Male Singer last year, too.)
      *Sunny
      P.S. I got your email and will respond to it soon! I’m really sorry it’s late, but I was really busy this weekend. 😉

      Like

      • I know! 😀
        Yes, really! In fact, every year you can basically predict who’s going to win. It’s that easy. 😛 I think part of the problem is that the only people that can vote are the ones that are subscribed to a southern gospel magazine(we’re not, btw). And so the people that are subscribed are very loyal to their specific artists. 😛
        That’s good that different people win every year. It’s so boring for the same artists to win every single year.
        ~Christian Homeschooler
        P.S. It’s okay! I was busy this weekend, too. Yesterday we were out for the whole morning, because after church we were participating in a bluegrass jam.

        Liked by 1 person

      • 😀
        Haha, seriously? 😛 Oh, that makes sense. I’m loyal to specific artists too in these awards, but if I could vote (for K-LOVE or for the Southern Gospel Awards), I’d try to be fair and give someone else a turn. 🙂
        I know, it sounds so boring! Like why even bother having awards if you know who’s going to win?
        *Sunny
        P.S. Thanks, I was hoping you’d understand. This time of year is busy for me. Ooh, a bluegrass jam? That sounds so cool! I haven’t listened to much bluegrass, but I like it. 🙂 We used to have a bluegrass music channel on our TV, which my sister and I liked to dance to. 🙂

        Like

      • Yes, I’m loyal to artists too, but with awards you need to be fair and honest. 🙂
        ~Christian Homeschooler
        P.S. Yes, it was pretty fun. I didn’t play very well though, because a lot of the songs I’d never played before. 😛 What kind of bluegrass do you like? Like, what songs do you know/listen to? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I agree, you do. 🙂
        *Sunny
        P.S. Haha, that’s okay, I’d probably be the same way. 😛 I don’t know, because I don’t listen to it much or know any specific songs. But I like it if it’s fast!! 😀 How about you-do you have any recommendations for me?

        Like

      • Okay, yeah, I understand. I don’t really listen to any songs unless my brothers are playing it. Basically, we girls like southern gospel and the boys like bluegrass. 😉 Some songs I like are: Wildwood Flower, Family Bible, and Big Scioty. I’ve tried to play all of those on the violin. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s cool! So you have your own tastes in music. 🙂
        They sound like great songs, just from the titles alone. That’s really great that you can play (or tried to play 😉 ) those songs on the violin.
        *Sunny

        Liked by 1 person

    • YAY! So happy you agree with me!
      Hmm…Unspoken…let me think. 😉 Yes, I like them a lot and think they’re really good! I love their new song “Good Fight”. 🙂 Hope you like them too!
      *Sunny

      Like

  2. I agree completely about what you said about Lauren Daigle. Her songs might be nice, but I can’t focus on the words because I keep thinking about how I don’t like her voice. (Sorry Lauren Daigle :))

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: K-LOVE Fan Award Winnners~ Who I Would Have Picked | A Barefoot Gal

Leave a Reply

