American Girl Flashback: Historical Characters/Best Friend Dolls

Hi everyone!! Today I’ll be giving you all a peek at some of my old American Girl catalogs that came in the mail the other day. (If you have no idea what I’m talking about, go here.)

image

First, here are all the catalogs together. 🙂

I’m not going to use pictures from all the catalogs in this post, since a lot of it is just the same stuff over and over. But I picked out four of these to show you all what AG had for the historical characters in the past. 🙂

image

First, let’s start off with the Holiday 2004 catalog!

image

Right here we have an advertisement for the Samantha movie, which was just being released at the time. (If you haven’t seen this movie yet, I highly recommend checking it out!) Don’t Samantha and Nellie look so cute on the right? 🙂

image

Here’s Nellie in a full-page spread! (Sorry about my finger being there, I had to flatten the page down a little. 😉 ) Nellie was such a cute doll, and I really wish AG still sold her. (Fun fact: I actually almost got Nellie the year she was retired, but she was sold out, so I got Kit instead. 🙂 )

image

image

Here are all the other lovely Historicals that were being sold at the time. Except for Samantha, none of the girls’ book covers had been changed yet!

image

I thought this little quiz was interesting. (In case you’re wondering, I’m most like Josefina. 😉 ) But what bugs me is the little paragraph at the bottom of the page. This is what it says:

We strive to make the accessories in The American Girls Collection with the most authentic materials available, which is why we recommend them for girls 8 and up. So please handle them with care! We hope you’ll be able to cherish these playthings for years to come.

Well, that sure isn’t true now, is it?

image

Here are Samantha and Nellie in their beautiful sleigh…

image

…and in their winter coats!! 😀 I like Samantha’s old winter coat way more than her new one.

image

Here are some of the girls in their “special edition” outfits that were out at the time. Molly looks so cute in her dude ranch outfit!!

image

Kit and Addy have adorable new outfits, too! Blue is definitely Addy’s color. 🙂

image

Kaya didn’t get a special outfit (sadly 😦 ), but she did have this breathtaking shawl outfit at the time. So pretty! Why did they retire this?

image

All right, let’s move along to the summer 2005 catalog.

image

Nellie, Kaya, and Addy each got new dance outfits that summer. Kaya got a Pow-Wow Dress of Today, Nellie received an Irish Dance Outfit of Today, and Addy was given an African Dance Outfit of Today. My favorite is definitely Nellie’s. The picture of her Irish step-dancing is too cute! 🙂 It seems that Kaya and Addy were a lot less neglected by American Girl at the time-especially Kaya. I think it’s really sad how she barely has any outfits now!

image

image

The historical characters’ pages had updated a bit since the last catalog. They all had the new covers by this point, too, which was great! Felicity still didn’t make her reappearance until fall of the same year…with Elizabeth, but we’ll get to that in a second. 😉

image

Here’s something really cool: that summer, Kit, Samantha, and Molly got new beach outfits and accessories. Molly’s must have been the most popular, because hers was around until she retired a few years ago. I personally think Kit’s outfit is super cute, although she does remind me a little bit of a bug in it. 😉 And Samantha looks gorgeous as always! Somehow, I get the feeling that if they released a “bathing outfit” for her now, it would be pink. Who’s with me on that one?

image

Skipping ahead to the December 2005 catalog… and Felicity is BACK! 😀

image

Here’s Felicity and Elizabeth together, along with an ad for Felicity’s movie, which was released at this time. (That’s a really good movie too! The only historical AG movie that I don’t have. 😉 )

image

Introducing Elizabeth! (ignore my hand 😉 )

image

image

image

Here are some more pictures of Felicity and Elizabeth’s collection. The last picture is my favorite. 😉 Felicity’s Tea Lesson Gown is so beautiful, I wish I had gotten it before she’d retired.

image

Merchandise revolving around the American Girl mystery books, which were pretty new at the time. Those puzzles look super fun!

image

Finally, the last catalog we’ll be looking at today…July 2006 (which also celebrated AG’s 20th anniversary!).

image

A little blurb about the woman on the cover and her American Girl memories. Apparently she’d been on the spring 1990 catalog cover too, which I thought was pretty cool.

image

image

The Historical Character page changed once again in this catalog. 🙂

image

Here’s something that I thought was really cool: Kirsten’s recess set! I’d never seen this before, so I’m assuming that it wasn’t a very big seller. To me it looks like it would be a fun item to have, though. Plus I absolutely love that picture of Kirsten “playing” at recess! 😀

image

A spotlight on Josefina! American Girl should really be ashamed of the way they’ve been treating her lately. It seems that back around this time, they gave her much more attention than they do now.

image

Kit, Samantha, and Molly once again got new outfits that year (I’m assuming they were the most popular dolls at the time). This time, they received new outdoor play outfits! Kit’s was a Scooter Outfit (so cute!), Molly’s was a Roller-Skating Outfit, and Samantha’s was a Bicycling Outfit. They also, of course, got a scooter, roller skates, and a bike, respectively. Doesn’t Samantha’s old bike look so much more historically accurate than her new one?

image

And finally, a two-page spread dedicated to Samantha (and Nellie)’s collection! 🙂

I hope you enjoyed seeing what was available for the Historical Characters from 2004-2006. Next time, we’ll take a look at the Girls of the Year during those three years (Kailey, Marisol, and Jess)!

Have a great rest of your day!

*Sunny

21 thoughts on “American Girl Flashback: Historical Characters/Best Friend Dolls

  1. Thanks for sharing! I love Kit in her baseball fan outfit, because it seems so Kit… Unlike the recent pink Kit dresses for sale. I love that in these old catalogs the clothes relate to the doll’s story, not what AG thinks will sell.
    Felicity’s dresses are amazing. Jen

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re so welcome!
      I definitely agree, the outfit is perfect for Kit. AG should really sell another outfit like that in the future.
      Same here-I really wish they still did that nowadays.
      I know, they really are breathtaking! 🙂
      *Sunny

      Like

    • Haha, really? Well, it’s hard not to watch it after seeing all these pictures…I feel the same way! 🙂
      Oh, wow, that’s great! I’m so glad you liked it.
      *Sunny

      Like

  2. I think the clothes from the older magazines, like the ones you posted, were of much better quality than the new ones. They have so much detail, and like someone else said, they’re just like the clothes in the book, which really made the story come to life. The stories had a lot more meaning too.
    I received Samantha for Christmas in 3rd grade many years ago (1998) and her birthday & bedroom sets for birthdays/Christmases for the next few years. Now I have them all wrapped up in storage and can’t wait to give them to my kids one day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I definitely agree-AG really put a lot of thought and effort into the clothes.
      Wow, really? That is so cool! If I ever have kids I will definitely do the same thing. 🙂
      *Sunny

      Like

  3. I’m like Kit, Addy, and Kirsten. 😀
    Loves news, loves justice, is good at riddles, loves it when her family is together, loves her grandma (she doesn’t live that far away, though), optimistic, and plays with dolls? Sounds like me.

    And I really liked the occasionally sarcastic comment *claps*. I’m a very sarcastic person over here, especially when it comes to AG.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: American Girl Flashback: Girl of the Year Dolls | Everything Fun Under The Sun

Leave a Reply

