American Girl New Releases: My Opinions (Part One)

Hey everyone! It’s funny, I had completely forgotten that last Thursday was the day American Girl would release their new items…until I saw Loren’s post in my feed. Then I sped on over to the AG site to check out the items for myself! πŸ˜€ I’m going to split this up into parts, so in this post, I’ll be showing all the new Truly Me items, and sharing my opinions on them. Click the links and take a look at them if you’d like!

Recess Ready Outfit for Dolls-This is a pretty cute outfit, although it’s not my favorite. I do like the different colored polka-dots on the tunic, though. πŸ˜‰

Hairstyle Tools-I honestly think this set looks kind of cheap. Also, for all that you get with it, it’s pretty expensive. $20 for some bobby pins and hair elastics? You can probably get those for 3 bucks at Wal-Mart!

Sparkle Sweater Outfit for Dolls-The sweater and skirt go really well together, however, the boots definitely don’t match the rest of the outfit at all. I really like the boots by themselves, just not paired with this outfit. I personally think that the sweater is adorable, though-I have a blue one that looks a lot like it! πŸ˜€

Hot Lunch Set-I absolutely love fake food, so I thought this was really cool when I first saw it. I do think it’s a little overpriced, though. ($28)

Flip-Top Desk-This set is pretty cute. I don’t really like how the chair is attached to the desk, but other than that, it’s not too bad. I personally think that for everything that comes with it, it’s priced pretty fairly ($58).

Terrier Puppy-Even though I think that this puppy is absolutely adorable, I’m a little bored by all the pets nowadays. They’re cute, but they don’t have names (except for Coconut), and they just look so cheap to me. I’m not sure if this is true or not, but I heard that AG might be retiring Coconut. I really hope that doesn’t happen (even though I don’t like the new Coconut). When I think of AG pets, Coconut always comes first to my mind! It would be sad if they just got rid of her.

Science Fair Set-Other than the telescope, the parts of this set look cheap-y in my opinion. Also the price is kind of outrageous for a telescope and a cardboard display/stickers—$32! I do like that you can change the slides on the telescope, though-that is so cool!

Stylin’ Bangs-I don’t really like these, but it is a neat idea if you’re someone who’s always wished that your doll had bangs. πŸ˜‰

Basketball Outfit for Dolls-I’m not a basketball person, but I think this is such a cool outfit! I love the colors (no pink, yay!), and the doll-sized basketball is sooo cute. πŸ™‚

Sports Storage Bench-Not really a fan of this one. To be honest, the sports stuff that comes with this set (mainly the football) just looks so small to me. So that kind of ticks me off. It is kind of adorable, though.

Mod Monster Costume for Dolls-I really don’t like the wig…it is so weird and just dumb-looking. I do like the boots and the dress, though-they could be worn anytime, not just for Halloween/a costume party.

Double Braid Headband-I don’t think this is a necessary item for AG to sell, plus it’s $20. You could probably just make double braids in your doll’s hair yourself…for free!

Slow Cooker Dinner Set-This is definitely one of my favorite new items. The food is SO cute! I especially love the little glasses of milk. πŸ™‚ The only thing that I don’t love about this set is the price. $58, really?!

Sparkle Sneakers-I guess these are kind of cute. They’re not my favorite, but I do like how they’re sparkly. πŸ™‚ What I don’t understand is why they’re called “sneakers”. They don’t have laces! Shouldn’t they be called slip-ons instead?

Shearling Boots-These look super cozy, and I love the purple color! I do wish that they were a few dollars less, though. $16 for a pair of doll boots is way overpriced.

Sparkle Socks and Leggings-Pretty boring…but AG did pick some good colors to sell these socks (and leggings) in. πŸ™‚

Tweed Drivers Cap-OH MY GOSH, this is SO cute!! πŸ˜€ Definitely another one of my favorite new items. I would really love to have this someday!!

Fun Fedora-I really like this! I especially love that the stripe around the hat is blue and NOT PINK! πŸ˜€ Finally!

Silver Sparkle Beanie-For some reason, this reminds me of Isabelle. I like the other two hats better, but this one is pretty cute too.

Striped Hoodie for Dolls-I really like the color of this hoodie! It’s the perfect blending of pink and red in my opinion. $14 isn’t a bad price for this either. My only complaint is that the jacket seems a little too short, but it’s fine. πŸ˜‰

Rhinestone Baseball Cap for Dolls-This is adorable! I think it would look great on my Felicity.

Well, that’s all for the new Truly Me items! In part 2, we’ll take a look at the new Beforever things. πŸ™‚

Have a great rest of your day!

*Sunny

5 thoughts on “American Girl New Releases: My Opinions (Part One)

  1. I really liked reading your thoughts on the new release! I agree with basically everything you said, especially about the Recess Ready Outfit, the Hairstyle Tools, the Sparkle Sweater Outfit, the Science Fair Set, and yeah….basically everything. XD
    ~Christian Homeschooler

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

