American Girl Flashback: Girl of the Year Dolls

Oh my gosh, is this extremely overdue or what?! I honestly meant to get this up days ago, but I hadn’t been able to upload the pictures until last week. Thanks so much for your patience, guys!! (BTW, click here to go to the other AG Flashback I did before this one.)

In this edition of AG Flashback, we’re going to be taking a look at the Girls of the Year from 2004, 2005, and 2006 (Kailey, Jess, and Marisol, respectively). The GOTY collections were definitely not as big as they are today, so it’s fun to compare these girls’ collections with ones ofย  recent GOTYs, such as Grace and Isabelle.

image

Let’s start by looking at the Summer 2004 catalog. At the time, the Girl of the Year was Kailey.

image

A lot of people think that Kailey sold for two years, not just one. But I actually researched it and discovered that she only sold for one year. Kailey was actually introduced in July 2003, and retired just one year later, in July 2004. In fact, I have proof…

image

The orange star-shaped design in the top left hand corner says, Don’t miss Kailey! She’s only here through July 1, 2004 or while supplies last.
Pretty interesting, right?

image

Since Kailey was only the second Girl of the Year (after Lindsey in 2001), she had a pretty small collection. Her Wet Suit and Bikini actually came together in one set. Then she had a snorkel set, a beach towel a boogie board, and a dog named Sandy. That was it! Can you believe that? (Oh, and there was also a girl-sized bikini, too. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

Something funny is that the boogie board was only $20 at the time!! WOW! I’m sure now it would probably be like $50.

image

Now, moving on to the Summer 2005 catalog, it’s time to view Marisol’s collection!

image

Here’s Marisol in her Spotlight Outfit. She looks darling in it. ๐Ÿ™‚ There was also a separate “Spotlight Stage” you could buy, which also came with a tiara.ย 

image

Marisol’s Tap Outfit (which was $26, a great deal for all that it came with!). In the top right hand corner is her book (yes, the GOTYs only came with one book back then!). I really recommend that you read it, it’s one of my favorite Girl of the Year books. Even though Marisol’s into dance, it talks about other things besides her dancing, like her school, her family, and the struggle of moving to a new town. She seems like just a normal kid–I loved her book ten times more than Isabelle’s.

image

Some more of Marisol’s stuff. I love her jazz outfit-purple overload!! ๐Ÿ˜› She looks really cute in it, too!

image

Finally, here’s Marisol’s Ballet Outfit (which was only $22-I’m sure AG would’ve raised the price times two if they sold this outfit nowadays!), along with her “Whole World Collection”, which was $249 (EXPENSIVE!!). Even though the price for all of Marisol’s stuff is really high, it’s fair, because it comes with a stage and dance trunk, along with all of the outfits. In my opinion, Marisol’s collection is so much nicer than Isabelle’s, and the public back in 2005 must’ve loved it too, because Marisol sold out ten days before Christmas that year!! Can you believe it? Even though Marisol was a doll of color! This is just another reason why American Girl should really release another non-white Girl of the Year. ๐Ÿ™‚ That’s proof that they really doย  sell well!

image

Moving on to the March 2006 catalog, let’s take a look at Jess’ collection! (BTW, I love that purple dress on the front cover.)

image

Here is the lovely Jess! ๐Ÿ˜€ She was such a gorgeous doll. I also really love her adorable fuzzy green monkey!!

image

From these pictures, it might look like Jess had a smaller collection than Marisol, but that’s actually not the case. She also had some cute aqua pajamas, as well as a motorscooter. They’re not in this catalog, though, since they were released later on in the year.

image

I love the little blurb on the side of this page-what a cute idea! I personally think the catalog scenes in AG’s older catalogs were a lot more creative and thought-out than they are now.

Well folks, that’s all for this edition of AG Flashback! Next time we’ll be taking a peek at some of the American Girl of Today (or Truly Me as it’s now called) stuff from the past. See ya!

**Oh, and there WILL be a Throwback Thursday today, so stay tuned!! ๐Ÿ˜€ **

*Sunny

13 thoughts on “American Girl Flashback: Girl of the Year Dolls

  1. Aah! I love those Kailey pages! The Marisol and Jess pages are good too, but Kailey is my favorite doll of those three. ๐Ÿ™‚ I really like all the pages, though. I like how AG used to have the new doll vertical on both pages. It was fun. Marisol’s outfits(like Isabelle’s) are like, all dance related, but I guess that’s how AG used to make GOTY dolls. They didn’t really have many outfits, so it’s understandable.
    I actually remember those three catalogs, but it was great to see them again, because we don’t have them anymore(we cut them up)
    ~Christian Homeschooler

    Liked by 1 person

    • Me too! ๐Ÿ˜€ Kailey is definitely my favorite as well. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yeah, the vertical thing was really cool. I wonder why they stopped doing hat.
      I know, they are, but I still think they’re pretty cute. ๐Ÿ™‚ And yeah, it makes sense.
      Wow, that’s awesome!! I remember the 2005 one, but not the others-even though I remember seeing all of these dolls in catalogs before. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s a shame your catalogs got cut up though. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
      *Sunny

      Liked by 1 person

    • So do I! She’s so gorgeous! ๐Ÿ˜€ I know, it’s a real shame. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ American Girl really should remember how popular Marisol was and make another doll that isn’t white.
      *Sunny

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Did you know that Kailey and McKenna are the only AG dolls who don’t have a part? It’s why it’s so fun to style their hair. I also like the vertical photo dolls. When I was a girl, I dreamed of owning Molly and I would put her vertical catalog picture next to me when I went to sleep at night!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, really? I never knew that! ๐Ÿ˜€
      I agree, the vertical photo dolls are really cool.
      Haha! That’s so cute! How long did you have to sleep with her picture until you finally got her?
      *Sunny

      Like

Leave a Reply

