Throwback Thursday: Liberty’s Kids

Okay, WOW! It has been such a long time since I last did Throwback Thursday (it’s been over two months, if you’re curious!). I’m really sorry about that, but every week I would either completely forget, or just have nothing to post about. Luckily, Throwback Thursday has returned, and today we’ll be taking a look at the awesome kids’ TV show, Liberty’s Kids!

I’m not sure how popular this show is, since apparently it only ran for one season (40 episodes), but Liberty’s Kids is an awesome, animated show that teaches kids about the American Revolution and the history of our country. It centers around two teenage kids that live in 18th century Philadelphia-James, a journalist who works for Benjamin Franklin’s printing press, and Sarah, an English girl who has recently relocated to America. Most of the events of the show take place in and around Philadelphia (but also in other places too), as James and Sarah (as well as their young French friend Henri) go off to cover an important story for Benjamin Franklin’s paper. Usually this event is something important in American history, such as the Boston Tea Party or the signing of the Declaration of Independence.

The show’s website is really cool, too. In summer 2012, I was really obsessed with Liberty’s Kids, and so I used to go on the website almost every day and play a game called Mystery Guest. (Click here to play it for yourself!) Basically, James will give you three clues about a famous American who did important things during the Revolutionary War. (George Washington, Betsy Ross, etc.). I almost never guessed the correct person, but it was still super fun to play. Continental Cartoons is another funΒ  game too. If you’d like to play it, click here.

If you have never seen or heard of Liberty’s Kids before, I really recommend that you check it out! We have all of the episodes on DVD, and it has really helped me learn so much about the USA’s history.

That’s all for this week’s Throwback Thursday-I really hope you all enjoyed! I’m not sure how often I’ll get it up these days, but definitely as often as I can. I leave you with the excellent, amazing theme song to Liberty’s Kids, which you can either listen toΒ  on the show’s website, or in the YouTube video below. Have a great rest of your day, guys!

*Sunny

8 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Liberty’s Kids

    • I’m so glad you like it too! πŸ˜€ It really is a terrific show.
      Cool! I’ve never heard of Voyagers before, but I’ll have to check it out sometime. That’s funny that it only ran for one reason too. πŸ™‚
      *Sunny

      Like

Leave a Reply

