Throwback Thursday: A Peek At WOW Hits 2004

Hi everyone! Since the track listing for WOW Hits 2016 was released this week (go here to check it out for yourselves), I thought today I would pick one of the WOW CDs from the past, and share my opinions on several of the songs. WOW Hits 2004 seemed like a pretty good fit, so I decided to choose that one for today’s post.

If you don’t know what WOW Hits CDs are, don’t worry! A few years ago I didn’t even know what they were, either. 😉 Each year, a new WOW Hits album is released. Each album contains several Christian songs, usually the most popular Christian tunes from the past year. I received WOW 2014 a few years ago, and I even did a review on it when I was just starting my blog (which you can view here and here).

Now let’s finally get to talking about WOW Hits 2004! I don’t actually own the CD, but I have several of the songs from it on my iPod and have heard a few on YouTube, so a bunch of them I am already familiar with. As with all WOW CDs, there are two discs, so I decided that I would feature my favorite and least favorite songs from each disc in this post.

Disc 1 Favorites:

-Newsboys-He Reigns-This was one of the very first Christian songs I ever heard, in summer 2011. My mom actually discovered it (thanks, Mom!), and downloaded it off of iTunes. When she told me about the song, I wasn’t sure if I would like it, since I was just getting into Christian music at the time and didn’t know very much about it. But after listening to the song several times on my sister’s iPod, I realized that I loved the song, and put it on my iPod right away! Although He Reigns is over ten years old now, it still plays pretty often on K-LOVE and other Christian radio stations. It’s such a positive, wonderful song, and the Newsboys do a terrific job with it. It’s definitely one of my favorite songs by them-and a great way to start off this CD. 😉

-Steven Curtis Chapman-All About Love-I first heard this song in 2012, after going through WOW Hits 2004 samples on Amazon (pretty funny that the first time I heard this song was on this CD, that I’m now reviewing!). I thought it sounded really good, and I eventually did get it on my iPod. It’s a really upbeat song that just talks about the importance and greatness of loving!

-Point of Grace-Day By Day-As of now, this is the only POG song that I know, but I really like it! I first heard it a couple of months ago and thought it was just fantastic. The Point of Grace ladies (sorry gals, I have no idea what your names are…) have terrific voices, and this song really shows off their talent. It’s a very peppy song and just puts a smile on your face. 😉

-FFH-You Found Me-FFH is a really old group who I don’t know much about (apparently this song was released in 1999, so I don’t know why it’s on this CD). But I do know one thing: and that’s that they have great voices! 😀 The harmonies and vocals in this song are outstanding, and it’s just one of those songs that makes you feel good. This is another song from this CD that I have on my iPod. I don’t listen to it very often, but I still love it!

-Avalon-Everything To Me-I’ve only been interested in Avalon for a couple of months, but in that short amount of time I’ve managed to listen to many of their songs. This song I hadn’t really listened to until recently, but one day I finally decided to try it, and I was blown away! Michael (who sings the first verse)’s vocals on this lovely ballad are just AMAZING. I never knew he could sing that high… 😉 The only thing I don’t like about this song is Melissa (who sings the second verse, and also replaced my #1 favorite Avalon member, Cherie-boohoo! 😦  ). I really don’t like her voice at all, but in this song it’s tolerable.

-Chris Rice-The Other Side of the Radio-This is the first song I’ve listened to by Chris Rice, and I really like it! It’s just a cute, happy song that makes me smile.

Disc 1 Least Favorites:

-Amy Grant-Simple Things-I really DO NOT like Amy Grant (except for her Christmas songs 😉 ). Her voice really gets on my nerves, and she just sounds so fake or something in several of her songs. The song itself isn’t that bad. I think I’d probably like it a lot more, though, if Amy Grant wasn’t singing it. 😉

Disc 2 Favorites:

-ZOEgirl-You Get Me-I LOVE this song. It’s definitely one of my very favorites by ZOEgirl. The song’s message is great, too: even when people in this world don’t understand us, God always does, no matter what. I just ❤ that! 😀

-Rebecca St. James-I Thank You-Rebecca St. James never fails to disappoint! This song, like many of her others, is fantastic, and definitely one of my favorite RSJ songs. She has another song, that’s just called Thank You, and when I first discovered RSJ, I always used to get the two mixed up. 😛 But anyway, I Thank You is great-it always makes me feel really good. Rebecca just sounds awesome in it. 🙂

-Jeremy Camp-I Still Believe-Good old Jeremy Camp. I still hear this song all the time on K-LOVE, which is kind of funny because it’s pretty old. 😉 Despite being 10+ years old, though, it still manages to have a really good message. This message is that we should always trust in God, even if things don’t work out the way we want them to, because He has a plan for our lives. 😉

-Jump5-Why Do I Do-This isn’t my favorite song ever by Jump5, but I still do really like it. Their voices are fantastic in this song, which is really no surprise since their voices are fantastic in every song. 😉 And Libby (who sings the bridge)—man, that girl can SING! Jump5’s music sure didn’t sound the same after she left. 😦

Disc 2 Least Favorites:

-Stacie Orrico-Stuck-I liked Stacie’s song (There’s Gotta Be) More to Life on WOW Hits 2005, but I really don’t like this one at all. It’s definitely not as good. :/ I used to have this song on my iPod, because my sister downloaded it, but I eventually took it off just because the more I listened to it, the more I didn’t like it. So yeah, not one of my favorites.

-Relient K-Getting Into You-I’ve only heard one song by Relient K before…and that happened to be a Christmas song. I was expecting something more rock-ish and upbeat here, but this song was really dull in my opinion. A little too dull, in fact.

-TobyMac-Phenomenon-Yes, our pal Toby was still making music back in 2004 (or rather, 2003, when this album was really released 😉 ). I have to say, though, that I’m not a fan of this song. It’s wayyyyyy too annoying and loud.

Well, I hope you all enjoyed hearing my opinion on several of the songs from WOW Hits 2004! 🙂 I had a really fun time writing about the songs. Would you like for me to do another post like this in the future? If so, let me know in the comments. 😉

Have a great rest of your night!

*Sunny

8 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: A Peek At WOW Hits 2004

Leave a Reply

