31-Day Blogging Challenge: Day 14

Hi all! In today’s post, I’ll be telling you about a difficult time in my life.

Day 14-A Difficult Time In My Life

Four years ago, my parents decided to homeschool my sister and I. Our old school wasn’t the best one out there, and both myself and my sister had to endure lots of teasing from the other students. 😦  My parents really thought that homeschooling was the best option for our family.
I agreed to the idea at first, and so did my sister. After all, we absolutely hated our school and couldn’t wait until the end of the year so we could finally get out of there. And from the way my parents talked about it, homeschooling sounded like it would be a lot of fun. I mean, just think about it! We would get to be home all the time, with my mom as our teacher (and Dad as the “principal”), going at our own pace with our schoolwork. No more rushing through a whole math chapter in one day and then taking a test on that chapter the next day. Plus we’d be able to spend a lot more time together as a family, even though my dad worked Β at an office for most of the day. πŸ˜‰

Weeks later, it was finally summer vacation, and my mom, sister, and I went school supply shopping. Our school supply “list” was a lot less strict than the one we’d had at our old school. We were free to choose whatever kind of notebooks and folders that we wanted. None ofΒ  them had to be a certain style or color, which, at the time, was a nice change of pace for us. I was still pretty excited for school at this point, even though I had absolutely no idea what to expect.
Okay, right now you’re probably thinking that this doesn’t sound like it was a difficult thing for me at all. Don’t worry, I’m getting there.

Over the summer, I guess my sister and I kind of forgot all the bad things that happened at school that past year. We kept remembering the good parts of the past school year and would talk about them to each other constantly. The teachers (well, the nice ones), art class, the delicious school lunches…all that stuff. The more we thought about our old school, the more strange homeschooling seemed to us. But we would still try being homeschooled and see how it worked out.

So the first day of school arrived. I don’t remember very much of what went on that day, but according to my mom, by lunchtime, her, my sister, and I were all just in tears. Everything was so new, and we were a little stressed since it was the first day. Later that day, I talked to my cousins on the phone about their first days of school since they went to a regular school. They told me about their days, and that’s when I realized how much I missed being in a brick-and-mortar school.
For the rest of that week I thought nonstop about our old school. I wanted to be in an actual school again, around all those kids and all the teachers, the art classes, and those delicious school lunches.
My parents were patient with me though. They told me that as time went by, I would grow to really enjoy being homeschooled and wouldn’t miss my old school at all anymore. I didn’t exactly believe them at first, but I hoped that they were right.

By the end of the first school year, I absolutely loved being home schooled. I was getting to do so many things that I had never been able to do when I had gone to a regular school. My mom, sister, & I would meet up with my dad for lunch at restaurants every so often, which was always really fun. On nice days, we would go to the park and get some exercise. We even took some local classes for a while, such as drama, piano, etc. After experiencing all of these fun things, I never again wished to go back to my old school.

Today, 4 years later, we are just about to start our 5th year of being homeschooled. I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I am for the upcoming school year. I know that I’m very blessed to be home schooled, and right now I would like to thank my parents for deciding to take this risk. The risk definitely paid off, because now all four of us absolutely love being a homeschooling family. I didn’t realize it at first, but my parents were right when they had told me to give homeschooling a chance. If I had never done that, I probably never would have realized how much of a blessing it has been in my life.

Well, that’s all for today! I wanted to get up pictures of my tablet today, but my sister was on the computer until really late, and I’m pretty tired right now so I’ll wait till tomorrow to upload those pictures. And stay tuned for tomorrow, when I’ll talk about my 10 favorite foods… YUM!

Have a great night, guys, and see you tomorrow!

26 thoughts on “31-Day Blogging Challenge: Day 14

  1. I am sorry you have to experience being teased at school πŸ˜•
    Brianna homeschooled in kindergarten and it was a time we both absolutely loved. There are a lot of positives. We just got notified her bus picks her up at 7:10 next year. Argh!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have never set foot in a “school”. My mom was worried we would not pass test ( you know non school) because we only have had test given by her, but my brother and I both got very high marks when doing so( not to brag just to say it works)!
    I can’t wait to hear about your favorite foods. I love food!

    Maddie

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re very lucky that you haven’t ever been to an actual school. It depends on the place, of course, but I think most schools could be better. πŸ˜‰
      Oh, wow! That is awesome!! Congrats on that!! πŸ˜€ I’ve read that homeschooled kids actually do really well on college entrance tests (like the SATs) and things like that.
      And don’t worry, you definitely weren’t bragging. πŸ˜‰
      Oh yay! I’m glad you’re looking forward to that. I love food too!!! πŸ˜€
      *Sunny

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, that must have been hard. I haven’t experienced that since I’ve been home-schooled my whole life, though I still feel sympathy for you, knowing that you had to go through a time like that. I’m glad though that everything turned out well!:D And I know what you mean with school supplies-one of my favorite things about school!:D I got lots of cute stuff for this year. I may have to do a post on it!:D Lol!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m so glad you like being homeschooled now. πŸ™‚ I’ve been homeschooled my whole life, so I don’t know how it is to switch from public school to homeschool. That’s too bad it was hard to switch, though. 😦 But I’m glad that you stuck with it-it’s really the best way to learn. πŸ™‚
    ~Christian Homeschooler

    Liked by 1 person

    • Me too! And yeah, it was pretty hard. You’re really lucky that you’ve always been homeschooled. ☺ I’m really glad I stuck with it too. It’s fantastic…. and, like you said, the best way to learn. πŸ˜‰
      *Sunny

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

