31-Day Blogging Challenge: Days 12 and 13

Hi everyone! So sorry I didn’t get another post up until today–the past few days have been busy, and both days, by the time I had a chance to post, it was pretty late. πŸ˜‰

Anyway, today I’ll be talking about my proudest day. So let’s get started!

Day 12-My Proudest Day

OK, my proudest day happened only a couple of months ago. In English class this past school year, I had to write a research report. I decided to write mine on golden retrievers and all the things they do to helpΒ people in needΒ (you’d be surprised at how many different jobs retrievers have!!). Before I wrote the final draft of my report, I was instructed (by our homeschool curriculum) to write a first draft of the entire thing. I would then mail this first draft to our curriculum’s graders, and they would proofread my report and give me suggestions on how to make it better.

I worked super hard on this first draft. I got books from the library, looked up information about Golden Retrievers on the Internet, and so much more. The report was pretty difficult to write, not only because I had to really think about what I wanted to say, but also because I had to make lots of footnotes, and list every source I used in a long bibliography. I had to use so many index cards (for my sources) that it was ridiculous!
I even worked on the report into my spring break (which started the Thursday before Easter). I remember sitting at the dining room table on Good Friday, with my index cards spread out all over, sorted into piles. I was totally exhausted, but I really wanted to get my report done so I could enjoy the rest of my break without having it hanging over my head. I was so close to being done, too!

Finally, the day before Easter, I think, I finished my first draft of my report. I printed it out and mailed it off to the curriculum graders not long after, wondering what they were going to think of my work.

About two or three weeks later, I was out with my dad and sister at the library. I was waiting for my dad and sister to be finished up, so I called my mom at home just to see how she was doing. She told me that she had some good news for me: the woman who had graded my report had just e-mailed my mom. This woman told her my report had been so good, that she was counting my first draft as my final grade for the assignment…and that my final grade was an A-plus. I was absolutely thrilled!! (And so was my sister, because the same thing had happened with her first draft. πŸ˜‰ )

So, yes, that was my proudest day. All of my hard work really had paid off. πŸ™‚ And you know what’s even better? I don’t have to write another research report this year! πŸ˜€

All right, I’m also going to be sharing with you the meaning behind my blog name. πŸ˜‰

Day 13-Meaning Behind My Blog Name

OK, I think I might have said this in another post, but I’ll say it again just in case. πŸ˜‰ I blogΒ  about a bunch of different things-American Girl, dolls, food, music, stories…the list goes on and on. And these things are all happy, fun topics that I really enjoy talking about. πŸ˜‰ So that’s the “everything fun” part, of course. My name is Sunny, and since I’d be talking about all these fun things, it made sense for the blog to be called “Everything Fun Under The Sun”.

Okay, that’s it for now, but later I’ll be back to tell you all about a difficult time in my life. ☺

Oh, and my new tablet came today!! :mrgreen: (I’m using it now to type up this blog post, in fact.) So expect a post about that soon, too!

20 thoughts on “31-Day Blogging Challenge: Days 12 and 13

  1. love reading these :). I’m such a failure at this challenge… But I don’t have any inspiration because no ones commenting all I get is stupid likes :/. Sorry for bringing this all on your :). Cant wait to see your upcoming posts!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I totally agree!
      LOL, I know…it is kind of a tough one sometimes, especially if someone just picked a random name for their blog.
      I’m so glad!!! πŸ™‚
      *Sunny

      Like

  2. I’m so glad you’re enjoying them, Hayley!
    Aww, I’m sorry you’re not getting any comments. I’ll make sure to comment more often if it makes you feel better. πŸ™‚ I think you should just keep doing the challenge–the comments will start coming in, I’m sure.😊
    *Sunny

    Like

      • You’re welcome!:D
        Hey Sunny, I’m going to be doing some interviews of different “journalism” bloggers on my blog, and I was wondering if you would be interested?
        I’ll just ask you some questions and you answer them!:) I’ll post the questions and your answers in a post.
        Here we go;
        1) When did you become interested in blogging?
        2)What is your favorite thing about blogging?
        3)When did you start this blog?
        4) Have you ever considered starting another?
        5)Do you think that blogging will be a life long hobby for you?
        6) What is your favorite thing about writing?
        7) What is your best writing tip?
        Thank Sunny!:D

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh wow! I’m honored that you asked me and I think this is a great idea!! OK, here are my answers:

        1. I first became interested in blogging around spring/summer 2014, right after I discovered doll blogs. The other bloggers looked like they were having so much fun, I wanted to try my hand at it too!

        2. My favorite thing about blogging is probably being able to share my interests and opinions with others. That, and being able to interact with such great people. πŸ™‚

        3. I started my blog on March 13, 2015.

        4. Yes, I’ve always wanted to start a blog that’s completely from my dolls’ point of view. πŸ™‚

        5. I definitely think blogging will be a lifelong hobby for me. There’s always something to blog about….so many topics!

        6. I have a couple of favorite things about writing. I love creating my own characters and giving them all unique personalities. I also really love seeing my words on paper. It’s just a thrill for me! πŸ˜€

        7. Write about things that are familiar to you, or base your stories on things you’ve dealt with in the past. When I write a story, I sometimes base part of it on things that have happened to me before.

        This was really fun, Lainey! Can’t wait to see the finished post! πŸ˜€

        *Sunny

        Like

Leave a Reply

