My Opinions on AG’s Fall Release

Hi everybody! Happy Labor Day! Today I thought I’d share with you all my opinions about the new items (and dolls!) that American Girl released a few weeks ago. I’ve decided not to share my opinions on every item that was released, because it would take me a long time, and also I like pretty much everything that was released for Beforever.

So here are my three favorite and least favorite new Beforever items.

Favorites:

Maryellen Doll and Book-Maryellen is absolutely gorgeous! I love the fact that she has red hair…not blonde! 😀 Her meet outfit is super adorable, although I’m not too crazy about the black “M” on her little blue shrug. 😉 Maryellen’s books are great too; I’m currently in the process of reading them (I got them out of my library). I’m really happy that AG decided to release a character from the 50s.

Maryellen’s School Outfit-This is probably my favorite outfit from the Maryellen release. I love the fact that it’s purple, and the checkered design is super cute!

Maryellen’s Birthday Dress-For some reason this dress makes me think of The Little Mermaid. 😉 I think it looks absolutely stunning on Maryellen. I would love to wear this dress on my birthday…I think any girl would! I mean, just look at it: the ruffles, the sash, and the adorable little flower in the center of the dress! 🙂

Least Favorites:

Maryellen’s Sofa Bed Set-This doesn’t look like something from the 50s at all! For some reason (probably because of the bright colors) it looks like it could be from the 70s or 80s.

Maryellen Living Room Set-This isn’t bad, but it just looks kind of cheap to me. And honestly, $58 for a table and a bunch of teeny tiny accessories is kind of ridiculous in my opinion.

Maryellen’s Pajamas-These kinda make Maryellen look like a puffball…XD Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating a little, but these do look sort of strange on her.

Now let’s move on to Truly Me!

Favorites:

Popcorn Machine-I love fake doll food, so I was really excited when I saw this. Everything in this set is super cute, especially the little sodas! And the price really isn’t bad either.

Gorgeous Gold Outfit-The name for this dress really says it all: it’s a beautiful golden color, and it is VERY gorgeous! This dress, in my opinion, is one of the best holiday outfits that AG has ever released. I love how it comes with a wristlet/mini purse, too!

Warm Winter Accessories-These are cute! I love the color scheme.

Least Favorites:

Sparkle Spotlight Outfit-I honestly don’t understand why so many people are in love with this outfit. I really don’t care for it at all! No one wears shorts in the winter, not even with tights (at least no one that I’ve seen). And the tights just look weird with this outfit.

2-in-1 Gymnastics Outfit-I really am not a fan of the outfits here. Plus it only comes with one pair of shorts for some odd reason… :/

Warm Winter Outfit-I like the sweater here (even though it’s kind of a weird shape), but I don’t like the tights and the shoes.

Those are my opinions on the new releases, guys! Hope you all enjoyed–and I’d love to hear your opinions on the new stuff too. 🙂

Bye for now!

*Sunny

18 thoughts on “My Opinions on AG’s Fall Release

  1. I basically agree with everything you said! 😀 I like Maryellen a lot, and I also think her birthday dress is very pretty. I’m not really a big fan of the sofa bed, and I would rather that she had a real bed. 😛
    The Sparkle Spotlight Outfit and the Warm Winter Outfit are definitely my two worst outfits from the release. I don’t like them at all. The sweater from the one outfit is okay, but if you’re going to wear leggings, than you need a longer shirt. 😛 I also don’t like the two-in-one gymnastics set. It’s too strange.
    ~Christian Homeschooler

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay, I’m so glad! 😀
      I agree , I wish Maryellen had a real bed too. She never slept on a sofa bed in the books, so it’s kind of weird that she has one in her collection. 😛
      I agree! Especially the Sparkle Spotlight Outfit! I agree, you do! I wish that outfit came with jeans instead, the leggings look weird paired with the sweater….
      And yes, the 2-in-1 set is very strange. I don’t really understand why AG releases a gymnastics outfit with every release (well, of course not with every release, but it just seems like it….).
      *Sunny

      Like

      • Okay, so you read the books and she never slept on a sofa bed? That’s lame. Why did they make her one if she never slept on one in the books? 😛 Speaking of the books, I have been curious: does she go skating in the books?
        Yes, jeans would look a lot better.
        ~Christian Homeschooler

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yup, exactly! Isn’t that weird?! Well, I’m almost done book 2 and so far she doesn’t sleep on a sofa bed, so I’m going to assume she doesn’t. I think they might have mentioned a sofa bed at the beginning of book 1, but I’m not sure. And if they did, Maryellen certainly didn’t sleep on it…
        *SPOILER FOR ANYONE ELSE WHO IS READING THIS* Yes, she does go skating at the end of the first book. It was one of my favorite parts to read about. 🙂
        *Sunny

        Liked by 1 person

    • I know right? It’s actually kind of weird because some of the AG books they never get in (like the new Samantha mystery). Yes, I’ve laughed out loud several times!! I can’t remember the last time an AG book made me do that. Valerie Tripp has a real gift! 😀
      *Sunny

      Liked by 1 person

    • I know right? Why not?! *SPOILER* In the books, she shares a bunk bed with her sister. I think that would have been cool for her collection.
      I know, I love it so much! Even my mom loved it when she first saw it!
      Thanks, you too!! 😀
      *Sunny

      Like

  2. Before I actually saw the Sparkle Spotlight outfit I read that it was a more than 2 piece outfit that even came with tights AND if you buy it with an instrument you get $5 off! I thought, Oh boy! I’m so excited. And then I saw it for the first time. Ugh! Would any girl actually wear that in real life? I don’t think so. The shorts are strange and the peter pan collar is weird. No thank you AG! And yes, the winter outfit is odd too. Sometimes I wonder who is designing some of these clothes. There are some that I really like and some that completely turn me off.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh wow! Really? I would have been excited too….and then I’d be so disappointed once I got to the store.
      I know! I really can’t see any girl wearing that. The shorts kind of look like underwear or something…. 😛 Plus they look kind of cheap.
      I know! I wonder that too! Obviously whoever it is really needs to look more closely at what girls are wearing today… Nowadays I’m disliking more and more of the recent outfits, but then when I look at the old outfits I think, I sure wish AG still sold this!
      *Sunny

      Like

Leave a Reply

