My Top 5 Favorite Girls of the Year

Hi everyone! I’ve decided to talk to you today about my five favorite Girl of the Year dolls that American Girl has released so far. 😉

You all probably know what the Girl of the Year dolls are, but just in case you don’t, I’ll explain. Every year, starting in 2001, American Girl has released a doll that is known as the “Girl of the Year”. This doll, unlike the historical characters, is one whose story is set in the present day, and she usually has one or two main interests that are reflected in her book (or books) and collection. For example, last year’s GOTY, Isabelle, was a dancer who also liked to sew, so in her collection, there was a ballet barre and dance outfits along with a sewing machine and materials.

So…without further ado, here are my five favorite Girls of the Year! 🙂

5. Jess McConnell-Jess was the GOTY in 2006. I was pretty young then, so I wasn’t all that interested in her at the time. 😉 Now, however, I think she is a really adorable doll. Her collection was so cool! (I especially loved her motorscooter. 🙂 ) I also loved the fact that she was a doll of mixed heritage (Asian and something else…not sure what 😉 ). I didn’t really care for her book, though. For some reason it sort of bored me. I don’t think I made it past chapter one, to be honest with you.

4. Kailey Hopkins-Kailey was the Girl of the Year in 2003. I really liked the whole beach\tide pool theme that Kailey’s collection had (her boogie board, wet suit, etc.), and I enjoyed her book, which involved Kailey, her family, and her friends trying to save the tide pools from a developer who wanted to build a fancy hotel on top of them. The Kailey doll was sort of ordinary, with blond hair and brown eyes, but personally I thought she was a very cute doll. Her “meet” dress was adorable, too….I loved the aqua color!

3. Chrissa Maxwell-Chrissa was the GOTY for 2009, and her collection was completely different from the other girls’. For one thing, she had TWO best friend dolls (Gwen and Sonali) accompanying her, and Chrissa was also the first Girl of the Year to have a movie (watch it—it’s really good!). I really liked the fact that Chrissa was a swimmer (I’m not one myself, but I do really like to swim, and I thought it was unique). Her bathing suit was really cute, too. 🙂

2. Marisol Luna-I remember Marisol a little bit, but not too much. When I was in second or third grade, I read her book for the first time and loved it! I eventually got my own copy of the book, and finished re-reading it recently. Unlike Isabelle, Marisol (who was also interested in dance) attended a regular public school, and was a star player at two-square (a recess game). I liked the fact that dance didn’t control every single part of Marisol’s life—it seemed to be that way with Isabelle.

1. Nicki Fleming-Right around the time Nicki came out was when I was really getting into American Girl, so that’s one reason why she is my favorite Girl of the Year. I have read her books countless times (she was the first GOTY to have two books!) and have never tired of them. Nicki led a very active life. Besides training a service dog, she often went skiing with her best friend, planned her school’s end-of-the-year gala, and helped out around the ranch and house (since her mother was going to have twins!). I loved how Nicki’s books focused on several different interests of hers, not just one. 🙂

Well, I hope you all enjoyed learning about who my five favorite Girls of the Year were! I’d love to hear your opinions on the subject, too.

Have a great night! 🙂

*Sunny

49 thoughts on “My Top 5 Favorite Girls of the Year

  1. This is a really great and interesting post. I found it interesting that you’ve chosen all older GOTYs; no Saige? Kanani? I’d actually really like to hear what you think about ALL of the GOTYs (dolls and characters if they differ. I agree about Jess’s book being boring but Nicki’s books are my favorite books so far, though Lanie comes in a very close second. Would you mind if I stole your idea of this post and write an opinion of my own on my blog sometime? I really think it’s neat.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know…I just realized that myself. 😉 And that is a REALLY good idea—I think I might do that!
      Oh my goodness, I forgot all about Lanie! I remember being bored by her books at first but I’ve been wanting to reread them lately, just to see how I would feel about them now. 😉
      Of course not, go ahead! I’m always very flattered when people want to use my ideas. 🙂 And I’d love to hear your opinions on the GOTYs too. 🙂
      *Sunny

      Like

      • I definitely will! Our library has them, so next time we go those are the first books I’m checking out! 😀
        I know what you mean. I think the Lindsey doll is adorable, but her book…ehh. I liked it, but it wasn’t my favorite GOTY book.
        *Sunny

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Very interesting! My favorite GOTYs are:
    1. Lanie-I love her hair-eye combination
    2. Sonali, if she counts. I think she is such a pretty doll. I like Chrissa too, but I like Sonali better. 🙂
    3. Saige-her eyes and hair are so pretty!
    4. Kailey-yes, to some people she may seem ordinary, but her hair isn’t styled at all like most AG dolls. She doesn’t have a part in her hair!
    5. Chrissa-she’s just a cute doll, and I like that she is a swimmer, too. Plus, I really liked her books AND movie. 🙂
    So those are my favorites! I don’t really like the McKenna doll very much, but I’ve always liked her collection. I think gymnastics is really fun, plus she had an amazing loft bed! 😀

    ~Christian Homeschooler

    P.S. This is a little random, but I really like how you wrote this post. Especially the second paragraph. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooh, great picks! Sonali is a really gorgeous doll, and so unique! I love her outfit too. I think it’s interesting that Kailey doesn’t have a part (did you know McKenna doesn’t either?). I wonder why that it is, but I do like it. It’s more fun to style their hair that way.
      Chrissa’s books were SO good! I remember buying them at Barnes and Noble not long after she came out (but it was after I saw the movie) and I couldn’t stop reading them when I got home! I just reread them recently. And yes, I LOVED her movie!
      I don’t really like the McKenna doll much either–I don’t care for the Josefina mold on most white dolls. Her collection was pretty cool though (especially her dog!!), her books were good, and her movie was the best! Definitely my favorite GOTY movie (Chrissa is a close second. 😉 )
      *Sunny
      P.S. Haha, thank you! It’s funny you should say that because most of it was written on Friday night right before I went to bed, and I was SUPER tired, so I thought that I might have not been making sense in the post at one point. XD It was pretty much like, I hit publish and then fell asleep. 😉 Luckily I was in bed typing the post on my tablet so I didn’t fall asleep at the computer! LOL!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I did know that McKenna doesn’t have a part. I like her hair, but I wasn’t a big fan of of the hairstyles that AG did in her hair. 😛
        Oh, yes, I really like McKenna’s dog, too! Her movie was pretty good too, but I think I like the Chrissa and Isabelle movies better. 🙂
        ~Christian Homeschooler
        P.S. LOL!

        Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, I’m so glad! 😀 LOLOL! I know what you mean–I forgot about Mia and Lanie when I was planning out this post. 😉
      But those are great choices! I was really addicted to Saige’s books when I first read them (in 2013). I haven’t read Grace’s books yet, but want to! I also love the Grace doll-we have the exact same highlights in our hair! Actually, except for a couple of differences, I look exactly like her. 😉
      *Sunny

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh I LOVE Mia and Lanie!! And Sonali! And McKenna! And and- okay, I’ll stop XD
        Yeah, Saige’s books were really good and I also really enjoyed Grace’s. It made me love Paris 😀
        Oh wow! I have always imagined you as a blonde! LOL! I guess cause your name is Sunny 🙂 But now I can see that name going with a brunette 😉
        ~Jaclynn~

        Liked by 1 person

      • ME TOO! 😀 LOLOL! I loved McKenna’s movie-it was my favorite GOTY movie. Have you seen it?
        Oh no, I love Paris enough already–I almost don’t want to read Grace’s books now because then I’ll love Paris even more! LOL!
        Haha, that’s funny! A blonde…I like that! XD I can see why you would think that…because my name’s Sunny and the sun is yellow… 😉 And you know, it’s funny to hear how other people picture me, cause to me I’m just me…if that makes sense! LOLOL! 😀
        *Sunny

        Liked by 1 person

      • No, I actually haven’t seen any of the GOTY movies besides Grace’s… I know, I’m crazy XD
        LOLOL! Yeah, I seriously got so obsessed with Paris after reading her story and now I actually wanna go there! LOL!
        Yeah, exactly! I always imagined you with like dirty blonde hair 😀 LOL! Yeah, that totally makes sense! 😀
        ~Jaclynn~

        Liked by 1 person

      • What?!?! You need to watch them!! And this is actually pretty funny, but I’ve seen all of them except Grace’s-LOL! I wouldn’t recommend Saige’s though-I did not like the girl who played Saige at all.
        LOL! I hope you’re able to go sometime! Bring back a macaron for me! 😀
        Haha, that’s REALLY funny! 😀 Okay, good, I’m glad. 😉
        *Sunny

        Liked by 1 person

      • LOLOL! I know, I really do!! The only AG movies I’ve seen are Felicity’s, Samantha’s, Molly’s (but I have no memory of it), and Grace’s. And honestly- Grace’s movie was TERRIBLE! The acting and just little cheesy things they put in there- I did not like it. And also there were way too many unnecessary songs. The only thing I liked about that movie was seeing all the delicious French pastries LOL! 😀 (I hope I didn’t sound rude at all, just saying my opinion 🙂 )
        Yeah, I’ve heard Saige’s wasn’t good! That’s really sad cause I really loved her story! 😦
        LOL! Sure thing! 😀
        ~Jaclynn~

        Liked by 1 person

      • Felicity’s and Samantha’s were great! (Especially Samantha’s. 😉 ) And I loved Molly’s too. I’ve been meaning to watch that one lately but haven’t gotten around to it yet (I have all the historical movies on DVD except Felicity’s). Maybe tonight. 🙂
        Oh my gosh, that’s a shame! 😦 I really don’t like how all the GOTY movies seem to have like 30 songs in them. Isabelle’s especially had a ton.
        And no, you weren’t being rude at all! I actually enjoyed hearing what you thought about the movie. 😉 I probably would have felt the same way–I love looking at food! LOL!
        I know! I liked it the first time, but then the more I watched it the more I didn’t like it. 😦 Too bad I spent $15 on it. XP
        *Sunny

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes!! I LOVE Samantha’s!! And last night I started quoting Felicity and it made me wanna watch it LOL! 😀
        Yeah, it is. That is weird that they all have so many songs! :/
        Oh good, I’m glad! LOL! Yeah, the food looked amazing!!! It was making me sooo hungry! 😀
        Awww! That’s really sad! And I was upset that we wasted like $2 to rent Grace’s movie LOL! XD
        ~Jaclynn~

        Liked by 1 person

      • LOLOL!! 😀 I get like that with the AG movies too!
        Have you ever seen the Kit movie? It’s VERY different from the books, but it’s one of my favorite AG movies. 🙂
        I know! I don’t get it… :/ They need to make more historical movies!! I’d love to see one about Maryellen, Julie, or Addy. 😉
        LOL! 😀
        I would be too! 😦 But $2 is nothing compared to like $15! I love when the AG movies go on sale at my Target. Right before Christmas McKenna was on sale for $5, so I got it as kind of an early Christmas present to myself. 😉
        Hopefully for the next movie you’ll be able to get it out of the library. That’s probably what I’ll do. 🙂
        *Sunny

        Like

  3. I really like Chrissa and Jess too! My favorite is Kanani, probably mostly because of her collection, but I do liker her hazel eyes. Chrissa is so pretty, and I thought that the idea to have GOTY friends was cool, but since I’m not one of AG’s costumers, I guess they don’t really care what I think. 😉

    CutePolarBear

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s great! They are both really pretty dolls. 🙂
      Ooh, Kanani’s collection was great! Especially the “Aloha” outfit, with the white T-shirt and capri pants. 🙂 And yes, it was pretty cool that she had hazel eyes.
      I agree, it was a neat idea! I don’t really buy from AG either (I think the last time I bought anything was when Kanani came out), so I know what you mean, but personally I think they like to hear everyone’s opinions, not just the people who actually buy the products. Because otherwise how would they get any better?
      *Sunny

      Like

      • Yeah, I really liked her Aloha Outfit! Her meet dress was also really pretty, and so was her Party Dress.
        That’s probably true to some extent, but they would still, say, make a bunch of pink clothes because little girls like pink clothes and their mothers who know that they like pink clothes would buy the pink clothes for them. So even if there are people that don’t like pink clothes, AG would still make a lot of pink clothes because their base buys them. Make sense? 😉

        CutePolarBear

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ooh, I loved Kanani’s party dress-and her meet dress too! The blue color on both of those was super pretty. 🙂
        Oh, OK, I get it! 😀 (Hehe, yes, it does make sense–LOL!) I don’t like how a bunch of AG’s clothes are pink nowadays, though (especially the things in Samantha’s collection–in her time boys mainly wore pink!). I’m sure some girls like blue or purple or even orange much better. 🙂
        *Sunny

        Like

Leave a Reply

