What I’ve Been Up To Lately #3!

Hi everyone! I hope you’re all enjoying the 25 Songs of Christmas…I know I am! πŸ˜‰ I’ve been having internet problems lately, which is why today’s song hasn’t been posted yet. πŸ˜‰ Don’t worry though—it should be up later today! πŸ˜€

Anyway….I thought we’d take a little bit of break from that so I could post about what’s been going on in my life lately!

Reading: Lately I have been reading Anne of Avonlea by L.M. Montgomery. I read Anne of Green Gables a few months ago and loved it, and for my birthday I got the second book. πŸ™‚ I haven’t finished the book yet, but am more than halfway through, and it is so good!
Also, for this quarter in school, I’m reading Little Women, by Louisa May Alcott. It’s one of the best books I’ve ever read! We’ve had copies of it in our house for years, but I’ve only just flipped through it until now. We’re almost finished the first part, and I’m looking forward to reading part two! πŸ˜€

Listening To: Last night my family went to the library (which was REALLY fun!), and I got two CDs: WOW Hits 2012 (which I had a heck of a time trying to find, by the way πŸ˜‰ ), and the soundtrack to the musical Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. We already have an American version of it at home, but this one was a “London Palladium Cast” version (don’t know what that means…). My mom thought that maybe it was the version she’d had as a girl (it wasn’t), so I told her, “I’ll check it out for you!”. We listened to it on the way home last night and it was awesome! I listened to more of it while I cleaned this morning. πŸ˜‰
We’re in the middle of a SUPER warm snap (I’m talking seventy degrees!), so right now, I’m sitting on our back porch in my beanbag chair and listening to WOW Hits on my CD player, which I’ve brought outside with me (along with Joseph, of course!). The song on right now is Starry Night by Chris August. πŸ™‚

Writing: Well, right now I’m working on a story involving the beach. πŸ˜‰ That’s all I’m going to say for now. πŸ™‚ I’m planning to maybe post it on here after Dare To Be Different is done. (I’m hoping to get that up within the next few weeks, but we’ll see.)

Other Stuff: Last weekend, my family went to my cousin’s school to see their production of the musical Annie. It was SO good. Plus, my talented cousin, who’s in eighth grade, played Daddy Warbucks (*SPOILER*: He’s the rich guy who eventually adopts Annie, who’s an orphan). πŸ˜‰ He was absolutely amazing! I was really proud of him. πŸ™‚ Afterwards we went out with my cousins’ family and my cousin’s friend to Applebee’s for dinner. Let me just say, they have the best chicken tenders ever! πŸ˜‰

Over Thanksgiving weekend, my family put up our Christmas tree and all the Christmas decorations. And I’ll just get this out of the way and say that yes, we have a fake tree. Always have and always will. πŸ˜‰ Personally I think it’s easier to have a fake tree because the needles don’t get in the carpet. Plus, if you have a fake tree, you can put it up earlier than you could with a real one.

Well, guess that’s it for now! Hope you all have a great rest of your day! πŸ™‚

*Sunny

31 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Up To Lately #3!

  1. Sounds like you’ve been busy, but also having a lot of fun! I’m excited to read more of Dare To Be Different and, yes, Applebee’s does have some amazing chicken tenders πŸ˜‰
    We have a fake tree, too, and I completely agree with you! They are super easy! Our tree has four sections and you put them together and the branches just plop into place! It’s pretty awesome πŸ˜€
    ~Jaclynn~

    Liked by 1 person

    • They really are…well, at least so far. I can’t wait to read the rest of the Anne books. πŸ™‚
      Aw, that’s a shame that you and your dad have allergies. πŸ˜› But I’m glad that you have a fake tree too! πŸ™‚
      I can’t wait to see what you think of it! πŸ˜€ I just have to finish it now…. πŸ˜‰
      *Sunny

      Like

  2. Hi Sunny! It’s Brianna, I love the Anne of Green Gables. Jen and I watched the movie over the summer and for the 1st trimester at my school we had to read a biography or autobiography of a famous person. I read the biography of L.M Montgomery the writer of Anne of Green Gables. It was called Kindred Spirit and it was really interesting how her life was a lot like Anne. Starry Night by Chris August, is a great song. We saw him at a concert at a nearby church in October. 2 years ago, my school put on the play Annie. I was a set designer for the play. Hope you have a Merry Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Brianna! I’m so glad you love Anne of Green Gables, too! Isn’t the movie great? I’ve never read L.M. Montgomery’s biography before, but I think I might have to now. πŸ™‚
      That’s so cool that you got to see Chris August in concert–I think he’s a great singer. πŸ™‚
      Ooh, cool! So are you into art and stuff like that?
      Thanks so much, Brianna, and also, thanks for stopping by! I hope you have a Merry Christmas too! πŸ˜€
      *Sunny

      Like

  3. I’m glad you’re liking Little Women! I agree, it is a really good book. If you get the opportunity, you should totally read Little Men and Jo’s Boys, too, because those are both great books. πŸ™‚
    We just put up our Christmas tree yesterday(yay!), and it is a fake tree, like yours. I don’t mind fake trees at all(we’ve had our current tree for as long as I can remember, though we did have real trees before, I just was really little). Although, our tree sure does shed needles even though they’re fake! XP
    ~Christian Homeschooler

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was thinking of maybe reading those after Little Women! πŸ™‚ I’m glad they’re both great, because sometimes book sequels aren’t very good. πŸ˜‰
      Oh, wow, that’s great! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ That’s neat that you used to have real trees.
      Haha, it does?! I never knew fake trees did that too! XP
      *Sunny

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, sometimes they aren’t. πŸ˜› But I think my sister likes Little Men even better than Little Women!!
        Yeah, our tree is old and it sheds a lot. XP
        ~Christian Homeschooler
        I don’t know if you’re interested in any more Christmas songs, but there’s this instrumental Christmas CD we have, and it’s awesome. Here are some of my favorites:
        Christmas Eve-American Old Time

        Bonaire Sleigh Ride

        The Friendly Beasts

        Good King Wenceslas

        Jingle Bells

        The whole CD is in a playlist on YouTube, so if you’re interested in the whole thing, then here it is: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLUSRfoOcUe4ZtGmMvlJ0I4Ho_D3MMIVHc
        If you like one or two of the songs, then you’ll probably like the whole CD. I love it all! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • Wow, really? I’m definitely going to read it, then!
        LOL!
        Oh, wow, thank you so much! πŸ˜€ I am still looking for more, so I really appreciate these. And it’s funny….some of the kids at my cousin’s school sang The Friendly Beasts last night. They were so cute. πŸ˜‰
        *Sunny

        Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome! I hope you like them-tell me what you think! πŸ™‚ I really like The Friendly Beasts-two years ago my siblings and I played it in church. And actually, last year we did Good King Wenceslas(which is another song on the CD). All of my family really likes this CD. πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      • I will, don’t worry! πŸ™‚ Although I won’t be able to do it tonight…I have to go to bed soon. πŸ˜‰
        Oh, wow, you did? That’s so cool! So what instruments did you play the songs on?
        *Sunny

        Like

      • Okay, great! πŸ™‚
        Yeah, I have to go to bed soon too! It’s getting late!
        Anyway, I played the violin, and my brothers played the guitar and the mandolin. My sister CutePolarBear played the banjo on Good King Wenceslas and the penny whistle on The Friendly Beasts. My sister traditionalsgquartetfan played the violin on Good King Wenceslas and I don’t remember what she played on The Friendly Beasts…..But yeah, we have a lot of instruments. πŸ™‚
        ~Christian Homeschooler

        Liked by 1 person

      • Wow, that’s amazing! You all sound very talented. πŸ™‚ And yes, you sure do have a lot of instruments!! πŸ˜€
        I love the penny whistle. My mom has an old one, that she got when she was a girl. It’s in her dresser drawer, and sometimes she’ll take it out and we’ll play it. None of us are very good though. πŸ˜›
        Also, it’s neat how your sister can play the banjo! πŸ˜€
        *Sunny

        Like

      • Well, I don’t know about that…..But I do know that we are better at playing instruments than we used to be. πŸ™‚
        Yeah, the penny whistle is a pretty fun instrument. Nobody plays it a lot around here, either.
        Yes, I know! I don’t care for playing the banjo, but I think it sounds god when someone else plays it. πŸ˜‰
        ~Christian Homeschooler

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

