Ways To Have Some Fun In The Winter

Even if you don’t consider yourself to be an expert on finances, there are still many simple things you can do to take control of your finances this year. These past few weeks, I have come up with several ideas about how to save money and still have fun during the chilly winter months. Here are just some of them for you. I hope they’ll be helpful to you! πŸ™‚

image

1. Check out books from the library.
This is a terrific way to save money. When you check out books from the library, you don’t have to pay a single cent to take them home…plus, you can come in and get new books whenever you want! πŸ˜‰ Going to the library is a great way to find new stories and discover old favorites—and it’s a warm, cozy place that’ll keep you warm on those days when it gets below freezing! πŸ™‚

image

Not the best picture, I know...but it was all I could find. πŸ˜‰

2. Get active!!
I know that in winter, for the most part, no one wants to exercise, and no one wants to go outside, for sure. When the snow is falling and the sky is gray, watching TV on the couch sounds much more appealing than going out in the cold. But you can still have fun and stay active inside! If you have a big laundry room, garage, or basement, take advantage of them and use those rooms to play fun indoor games. Drawing a hopscotch board on the garage floor with chalk is a good idea. Even just using a basketball and tossing it around (or playing a quick game of basketball, haha!) would be great. If you get tired of playing inside, taking a walk around your neighborhood with your family is always an option (just remember to bundle up!!).

image

3. Have some family time.
I love spending quality time with my family, especially in the winter when we can all cozy up inside. πŸ™‚ Watch a movie, play a favorite board game (Apples to Apples, anyone?), or just sit around and chat. You may be cold at first, but I guarantee that by the end of the afternoon, you’ll be all warm inside from all the love that’s surrounding you! πŸ˜‰

I hope that these free, fun ideas will help you through the rest of the winter! Remember that you don’t always have to spend a fortune in order to have a good time. πŸ™‚

*Sunny

22 thoughts on “Ways To Have Some Fun In The Winter

      • Spoons Is very fun! You can play with 3+ people (but it’s more fun the more people you got!) and all you need are spoons (one less than the amount of people playing, e.g. five people = four spoons) and a deck of cards. Put the spoons in the middle and deal everyone 4 cards. The object of the game is to get 4 of a kind and then grab a spoon. If you get a spoon, you move onto the next round!
        The dealer will place the deck of remaining cards in front of him and will take a card from the pile to try and get four of a kind. If he wants the card, he puts it in his hand and passes a card he doesn’t want to the person next to him, and then they’ll decide if they want it etc. (Always remember to keep 4 cards in your hand at all times!!) If he doesn’t want the card, he passes it along to the next person and draws another one from the deck and repeats the process.
        When someone gets four of a kind, they grab a spoon. After someone gets four of a kind and grabs a spoon, the rest of the players, even if they don’t have four of a kind, try and grab one of the remaining spoons. If you have a spoon, you’re safe! If you were the last person and didn’t get one, you’re out.
        Then for the next round, remove a spoon (so there’s always one less spoon than people) and repeat! It’s super duper fun and can get really loud and rowdy and fast paced, lol!
        And then the other game I mentioned, Pit, is another card game, but you need special cards, not the cards with King Jack Queen 10 etc. I only learned how to play it recently but it’s really fun, hehe! If you’re interested in seeing what that is, here is the amazon link!
        http://www.amazon.com/Winning-Moves-1019-Deluxe-Pit/dp/B00000DMBD
        Wow, I don’t think I’ve ever commented such a long comment before, lol! Hopefully Spoons makes sense!

        Like

      • Haha, this was probably the longest comment I’ve ever received. But yes, it does make sense and sounds *very* fun (and also sounds like my kind of game)!! Thanks so much for taking the time to explain it to me…and also, thanks for the link! πŸ™‚
        *Sunny

        Like

    • Actually, yes! I just started Anne of the Island last week. And no, I’ve never read the Emily books before, but I’ve looked them up and would really like to read them! Maybe after Anne. πŸ™‚
      *Sunny

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve actually read all of them twice! The first time I read them, I was around Anne’s age (the first book). Then in college my mom found the entire set plus Rilla of Ingelside and Rainbow Valley and I read one book every year (I did it in May, for some reason I always think spring when I think of Anne). Somewhere in between I read the Emily books and I almost stopped reading Anne because I loved the Emily books so much. I wish LM Montgomery would have written a whole long series of her books too.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, wow! That is so neat! πŸ˜€ Although I don’t think I could wait a year to start reading the next book, they’re that good in my opinion. I can hardly wait to start reading the Emily books.
        Have you ever read Pat of Silver Bush? It’s also by L.M. Montgomery. I read it recently and didn’t like it that much…for some reason I just couldn’t get into it.
        *Sunny

        Like

Leave a Reply

